After Odisha panchayat polls fifth phase, BJP consolidates position further

The BJP continued to make inroads into traditional BJD strongholds in the fifth phase polls.

Published: 21st February 2017 08:49 PM  |   Last Updated: 21st February 2017 08:49 PM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: With counting for the fifth and final phase of the panchayat polls over, the attention of the political parties has now shifted to Zilla Parishad formation in the 30 districts in which the BJP has emerged as the main challenger to the ruling BJD.
According to the unofficial results of Zilla Parishad polls received so far, the BJD is in a position to form councils in 14 districts while the BJP will be able to do so in eight districts. The Congress will form a council in Jharsuguda district while the picture in seven districts remains unclear.
The BJD has emerged winner in Jagatsinghpur, Ganjam, Kendrapara, Angul, Balasore, Bhadrak, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri, Nuapada, Koraput, Jajpur, Keonjhar and Boudh districts while the BJP is ahead in Kalahandi, Mayurbhanj, Malkangiri, Bolangir, Sonepur, Sambalpur, Bargarh and Deogarh districts.
The situation remains unclear in seven districts including Sundargarh, Gajapati, Kandhamal and Rayagada districts. The BJP, however, continued to make inroads into traditional BJD strongholds in the fifth phase polls. The BJP won all the four ZP zones in Bhadrak, 12 out of 14 seats in Mayurbhanj and two ZP zones each in Sonepur and Sambalpur districts.
The BJD continued its dominance in coastal district. The ruling party won all the seven seats in Ganjam, four out of five in Nayagarh and two seats each in Puri and Khurda districts.
Trends from the counting received so far suggest that the BJD has won or is leading in 72 out of the 150 Zilla Parishad zones which went to polls while the BJP is close behind with 59 seats. The Congress is ahead in 12 seats while three ZP zones are likely to go in favour of independent and others.
However, the results have come as a big let down for the BJD whose tally has been reduced by nealy 200 seats this time compared to the 2012 panchayat polls. The BJP has emerged as the major gainer by winning in 305 seats so far compared to only 36 seats in 2012 polls. The Congress tally has reduced from 128 seats in 2012 polls to 59 seats this time.
The final tally of seats of different political parties may have some minor changes after the official announcements of election results by the State Election Commission (SEC) on February 25 as counting in some seats are yet to be completed due to different reasons.
The tally in 2012 ZP poll in which election was held in 851 seats: BJD-651, Congress-128, BJP-36, CPI-2, CPM-1, JMM-11 and Independents-22.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp