BJP celebrates show with Vijay Diwas

Only solace for BJD was Boudh where 6 party nominees were declared winners

Published: 26th February 2017 01:52 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th February 2017 04:07 AM   |  A+A-

BJP workers in a jubilant mood in Sambalpur on Saturday | Express

By Express News Service

THE BJP celebrated Vijay Diwas in Sambalpur on Saturday by bursting crackers in front of the party office led by National BJP secretary Suresh Pujari and three-time former MLA from Sambalpur, Jayanarayan Mishra, over victory of the party in the rural polls. While the BJP is set to form the Zilla Parishad (ZP) with 13 of its nominees declared officially elected, the BJD had to be satisfied with five ZP zones.  Sources said a consensus candidate of  Pujari, Mishra besides Kuchinda BJP MLA Rabi Naik would be chosen  to ensure smooth take over.


In Jharsuguda, the Congress candidates retained eight seats and the BJP had to remain satisfied with its nominee in one seat. Since the post of the president of ZP is reserved for Other Backward Caste (OBC), the Congress has the option to select from three among the winners,  who belong to the OBC category. While Swapnamayi Patel has won from Kirmira, Laxminarayan Patel has been elected from Laikera 2 and Pankajini Pradhan has been declared winner from Lakhanpur 2.Although Swapnamayi is said to be ahead in the race for the post of president, Jharsuguda MLA Naba Kishore Das will take the final call. 


In Bargarh, there was change in the tally of winning candidates after tabulation of votes polled in Attabira block of the district. The BJD candidate from Attabira 4, Mira Bhagar, emerged winner where the BJP was reported to be ahead in all the four zones bringing some respite to State Handloom Minister and local MLA Snehangini Chhuria.  With this, the BJP now has 25 members in the 34-member ZP while the number of BJD nominees has gone up to nine. The result of other blocks remains unchanged and the post of ZP president is reserved for OBC (Woman). There are at least five contenders in the BJP namely Mukta Sahu, Sujata Barik, Sunanda Meher, Sabita Sahu and Sanjukta Majhi. If education is the yardstick, Sujata Barik will the choice being a law graduate, even though all have organisational skills to become the president of the ZP. Padampur BJP MLA Pradip Purohit will play an important role in the selection of the president.


The BJP will form the Sonepur ZP as 10 of its nominees won in the rural polls and the BJD nominees won in just three seats in the 13-member ZP. Here too, the ZP president post is reserved for Schedule Caste (Woman) and two women who have won the polls - Soudamini Jal, who won from Ullunda 2 and Usha Kumari Jagdela, the winner from Birmaharajpur 1 - could be the choice for the post The only solace for the BJD across Western Odisha was the result from Boudh where six BJD nominees were declared winners. Here, two BJP candidates won and one seat was bagged by the CPI. With six winners, the BJD is set to form the nine-member ZP with president’s post reserved for Schedule Tribe (Woman). The BJD has to choose from winners of Boudh 1 and 2, Jysotna Bhoi and Sashmita Mallick respectively, for the post. The BJP candidates were declared winner from six zones while the BJD nominee won just one seat in Deogarh. The post of president of the seven-member ZP is reserved for OBC (Woman) and there is just one contender for the post __ Sudhamayee Patel __ who won from Tileibani 1.


At Balangir, with result of Belpada 3 put on hold on the direction of the High Court, the finally tally stands at BJP 23, BJD eight and the Congress two. Irrespective of the outcome of Belpada 3, the BJP will form the ZP. The post of ZP president is reserved for Schedule Caste (Woman) and there are two contenders for the post. Patnagarh BJP MLA K V Singhdeo will have the final word. The Saffron party nominees won in 33 seats in Kalahandi while Congress nominees emerged winner in two and the BJD candidate was declared elected from one ZP zone in the 36-member ZP.


The BJD tally in Nuapada district following tabulation of results on Saturday increased to eight, the half way mark in the 14-member ZP. Earlier, Khariar 2 seat, which was said to have gone to the Congress, has been won by BJD candidate after tabulation. The Congress candidates won in five ZP zones.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp