Prez poll: Parties’diktat prevails

Legislators of different political parties in Odisha seem to have gone with the party line in the Presidential election, result of which was declared on Thursday.

Published: 21st July 2017 03:17 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st July 2017 09:01 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: Legislators of different political parties in Odisha seem to have gone with the party line in the Presidential election, result of which was declared on Thursday.
Out of 147 MLAs in Odisha Assembly, 146 had voted in the Presidential poll except Subal Sahu of Congress. Sahu could not cast his vote because of illness. Besides, Independent Rajya Sabha member, supported by the BJD, AV Swami had also voted in the Assembly here.

Sources maintained that votes of 127 MLAs have gone in favour of the President elect Ram Nath Kovind, who was the NDA candidate while 17 MLAs voted in favour of UPA candidate Meira Kumar. Votes of two MLAs have reportedly been cancelled.Though there seems to have been no cross-voting, two votes which should have gone to Kovind have been rejected. However, it is not yet clear whether the rejected votes were from the political parties or Independents.

Kovind should have got 129 votes from Odisha MLAs. While the strength of BJD is 117 in the Assembly, the BJP has 10 legislators. BJD also had the support of two Independents, Satyabadi MLA Umakant Samantray and Champua MLA Sanatan Mahakud. Mahakud was the last MLA to cast his vote.
Meanwhile, Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly Narasingh Mishra said those who were expecting division in the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) in the Presidential election must have been disappointed.
He claimed that all the Congress legislators have voted in favour of Meira Kumar, the united opposition candidate. Besides, CPM MLA Laxman Munda and Georege Tirkey of Samata Kranti Dal also voted in favour of Meira, he added.

Stating that the BJD seems to be cracking and there were differences of opinion in the party over support extended to the NDA, which had fielded a RSS cadre whom no secular party can support. In the coming days, if the Chief Minister does not take a clear stand on BJP as demanded by some BJD MPs, the differences in the party will grow and those who believe in secularism will quit.

Naveen congratulates Kovind

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik on Thursday congratulated Ram Nath Kovind on being elected as the country's President. "Congratulate Shri Ramnath Kovind ji on being elected President of India. We look forward to work under his leadership at @RashtrapatiBhvn," Naveen said in a tweet. The Chief Minister had earlier extended BJD's support to Kovind, the NDA candidate, in the Presidential election describing him as a 'distinguished' Dalit leader. Kovind was elected country's 14th President defeating opposition's nominee Meira Kumar, a former Speaker of Lok Sabha.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp