9 candidates in fray for Dhenkanal LS seat

As many as nine candidates are in the fray for Dhenkanal Parliamentary constituency.

Published: 07th April 2019 03:30 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th April 2019 09:19 AM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

DHENKANAL: As many as nine candidates are in the fray for Dhenkanal Parliamentary constituency.
The major contenders for the seat are former Union Minister K P Singhdeo, who has been fielded by Congress, BJD’s Mahesh Sahoo and BJP candidate Rudra Narayan Pany. Even as the three candidates have intensified their campaigning, a triangular fight is expected for the constituency.

While Pany, a former Rajya Sabha member, has a strong base in all the seven Assembly segments of the district and is trying to rake up major issues, Sahoo has started connecting with all BJD candidates in the Assembly segments.

In Hindol Assembly segment, a total of eight candidates are in the fray after the nominations of two were rejected due to absence of proposers and mandatory documents. A triangular contest is expected for the seat among BJD’s Simarani Nayak, BJP’s Ajaya Kumar Nayak and Congress candidate Trinath Behera. All the three contenders have started organising panchayat level meetings to connect with the electorate.  

In Parjang Assembly constituency, eight candidates are in the fray. A high-voltage contest is likely between Transport and Commerce Nrusingha Charan Sahoo and BJP candidate Bibhuti Bhusan Pradhan for the seat. Sahoo had defeated Pradhan by a margin of 3,352 votes in the 2014 elections.  

As many as nine candidates will battle it out for Kamakshyanagar Assembly constituency. BJP’s Satrughan Jena and Congress candidate Bhawani Sankar Mohapatra are likely to emerge as main rivals of Steel and Mines Minister and BJD candidate Prafulla Kumar Mallik.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp