AIADMK candidates file papers for RS polls

Published: 13th June 2013 08:31 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th June 2013 08:31 AM   |  A+A-


The five nominees of AIADMK for the biennial elections to the six seats of the Rajya Sabha filed their nomination papers in the presence of Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa at the Secretariat on Wednesday.

The candidates -- AIADMK Medical Wing president,  V Maitreyan, Nilgiris District secretary K R Arjunan, Tiruchy Rural District secretary T Rathinavel, Villupuram North District secretary Dr R Lakshmanan and AIADMK Farmers Wing secretary V Thangamuthu took the oath before returning officer and Assembly secretary AMP Jamaludeen.

The six members whose term expires on July 24 are:  Dr V Maitreyan and A Elavarasan (AIADMK), Kanimozhi and N Siva (DMK), BS Gnanadesikan (Congress) and D Raja (CPI).

Filing of nomination ends on June 17.  Scrutiny of nominations will take place the next day and June 20 would be the last date for withdrawing nominations.

If the number of nominations exceed the number of vacancies, there would be polling on June 27.

Meanwhile, the five AIADMK candidates declared their assets. The worth of the movable and immovable assets of the five candidates as declared by them are as follows:

K R Arjunan (movable: Rs 58.32 lakh, immovable: Rs 5.55 crore; liabilities: Rs 10 lakh)

R Lakshmanan (movable: Rs 63,98,107; immovable: Rs 10,40,91,982; liabilities: Rs 1,58,25,688)

Dr V Maitreyan (movable: Rs 20,44,099; immovable: Rs 3 crore)

K Thangamuthu (movable: Rs 28,65,590; immovable: Rs 86,48,800; liabilities: Rs 44,85,796)

T Rathinavel (movable: Rs 67,33,310; immovable: Rs 93,78,650; liabilities: Rs 17,60,394).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp