2,500 Partymen Propose CM as General Secretary

Published: 25th August 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th August 2014 12:54 PM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: As the filing of nomination for the post of the AIADMK general secretary came to a close on Sunday afternoon, nearly 2,500 nominations were filed by party leaders and cadre from across the State — every single one of them in the name of the incumbent J Jayalalithaa.

With this, the Chief Minister is all set to be elected unopposed for the seventh consecutive time as the general secretary of the party, a post she first occupied 26 years ago, in 1988, after the death of party founder and former Chief Minister M G Ramachandran.

After the party invited nominations for the post of general secretary to be filed from August 20, serpentine queues were seen in front of the party headquarters in the heart of the city from day one. There were ministers, MPs, MLAs and other elected members down to the panchayat level, and party functionaries from district secretaries till the grassroots waiting in line, all carrying forms nominating Jayalalithaa as the party chief.

When the time for nomination ended at 3 pm on Sunday, there were a total of 2,467 nominations submitted to the election officer, AIADMK organising secretary Visalakshi Nedunchezhiyan. At Rs 25,000 nomination fee, the party received Rs 6,16,75,000, said a release from the party headquarters.

The next steps of the formality will be completed on August 27 when the nomination papers are scrutinised, and the result will be declared on August 29, incidentally Vinayaka Chathurthi.

Election to the post of general secretary should be conducted once in five years according to party rules. Jayalalithaa was elected as the leader in 1988 by the faction she led, and a year later, the splinter group merged to become one under her leadership. Since then, she has been elected unopposed in 1993, 1998, 2003 and 2008.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp