Five-member Rajeshwaran Panel Reduced to Four as TN Frames Fresh Guidelines to Implement Section 113-C

Published: 20th December 2014 06:46 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th December 2014 06:46 PM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: The constitution of five member Justice S Rajeswaran committee to frame guidelines for effective implementation of regularization of illegal buildings built till July 1, 2007 under Section 113-C of Town and Country Planning Act has been reduced to four with the transfer of commissioner of Town and Country Planning.

The Housing and Urban Development department constituted the five member committee headed by former high court judge Justice S Rajeshwaran on November 8.

However, with the post of commissioner of Town and Country Planning lying vacant, with the transfer R Venkatesan to revenue department, the committee has been reduced to four.

Sources said that CMDA member secretary A Karthik is also taking care of the responsibilities of DTCP.

Other members of the panel include head of the department of the school of architecture and planning, Anna University, S R Masilamani as well as Chief Planner of Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority.

Interestingly, Masilamani’s inclusion into the committee has been opposed by Association of Professional Town Planners secretary A Jaganathan. APTP has been opposing the membership examination called Associate Member in Institute of Town Planners, India (AITP) being conducted by ITPI. It is claimed to be equivalent to B Plan and M Plan

and has been awarded to persons who don’t have relevant qualifications.

Their contention is Masilamani who has got Msc statistics got into planning through AITP membership examination conducted by ITPI and later got PhD in planning from Anna University. “We opposed Anna University move to award PhD to him. We have also approached AICTE to take appropriate action on Institute of Town Planners, India for

conducting examinations and awarding the AITP certificate,” he said.

It is learnt that Rajeshwaran committee already had held three sittings to frame fresh guidelines for regularization of illegal buildings built till July 1, 2007 under Section 113-C after Madras High Court quashed two Government Orders. Interestingly, when Justice Mohan committee was formed to bring in amendments to the Town and country Planning Act, stakeholders from various fields were involved. However, such a thing is lacking when guidelines are being prepared to implement the amendment to Town and Country Planning Act, sources said.


Designation and Department                            Members


Justice S Rajeshwaran                                     Chairaman

(Retd HC judge)

Commissioner of Town and                          Member/ convenor

Country Planning

Member Secy                                                  Member


HOD of School of Arch and                            Member

Planning, Anna University

Chief Planner                                                   Member


Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp