Anbumani Makes Impressive debut

PMK candidate maintained good lead right from first round of counting; DMK at third place; more votes for NOTA than BSP

Published: 17th May 2014 09:48 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th May 2014 09:48 AM   |  A+A-

DHARMAPURI: Pattali Makkal Katchi candidate Anbumani Ramadoss on Friday won from the Dharmapuri Lok Sabha seat by 77,146 votes with the AIADMK candidate S Mohan at second place, and DMK trailing at the third spot.

PMK got 468194 votes including the 419 postal votes and AIADMK candidate P S Mohan got 391048 votes including the 330 Postal votes. 

DMK candidate R Thamaraiselvan, who won by 1,35,942 votes in the 2009 Lok Sabha election, was trailing in the third place bagging 1,44,147 votes, excluding 187 postal votes.

Congress candidate and son of former Congress veteran Vazhapadi K Ramamoorthy, Rama Sugunthan managed to poll only 11,696 votes, excluding 5 postal votes.

In the six MLA segments, including Palacode, Pennagaram, Dharmapuri, Pappireddipatti, Harur, and Mettur, AIADMK candidate got a sizable number of votes in Palacode, Harur, and Mettur.

Right from the first round of counting, the PMK candidate maintained a clear lead. However, in the seventh and ninth round, AIADMK managed to get more votes than the PMK nominee.

In the seventh round, AIADMK polled 20,766 while Anbumani got 18,379 votes. Similarly, in the ninth round, Mohan bagged 20,649 votes, while PMK secured 20,267 votes. 

Except PMK, AIADMK, and DMK, all other candidates are likely to lose their deposits.

As many as fifteen candidates, including nine independent candidates were in the fray.

The number of none of the above (NOTA) votes that was cast was higher than those secured by Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Rajinikanth.

At the end of the fifteenth round, Rajinikanth secured 6,234 votes, while 9,946 were cast in favour of NOTA.

Dharmapuri constituency recorded 81.07 per cent turn out as the total number of votes polled were 13,57,134.

The total postal votes polled in Dharmapuri constituency was 1,287.

As many as 15 candidates contested from Dharmapuri constituency, which included 9 independent candidates.

Meanwhile, the DMK candidate R Thamaraiselvam said caste and currency politics had won in Dharmapuri.

After visiting the counting hall, Thamaraiselvan alleged that both the PMK and AIADMK cast bogus votes and that was the reason for the debacle of DMK in the elections.

More from Tamil Nadu.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp