Key Party Functionaries in Districts Where AIADMK Lost Sacked

Published: 19th May 2014 06:47 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th May 2014 06:47 PM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: Cracking the whip in the backdrop of her party losing in three Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry,AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa today relieved key party office-bearers of their posts in three districts.

Party District Secretaries in Kanyakumari (East and West), Dharmapuri and Puducherry had been relieved of their posts, Jayalalithaa in a statement here announced.

AIADMK won a landslide, bagging 37 of the 40 seats it contested in the April 24 Lok Sabha elections, but lost to NDA candidates in Kanyakumari (won by BJP), Dharmapuri (PMK) and Puducherry (AINRC).

Those removed from party posts are: A Sivaselvarajan and D John Thangam (Kanyakumari East and West respectively), K P Anbhazagan, MLA, (Dharmapuri) and A Anbazhagan, MLA, (Puducherry) and Jayalalithaa Peravai Secretary (Puducherry) Om Shakthi Sekar, MLA.

In another statement, Jayalalithaa announced removal of Revenue Minister B V Ramanaa from the post of Tiruvallur AIADMK North District Secretary.

The axe fell on three district secretaries and the other apparently due to the defeat of the party. But the reason for removal of Ramanaa was not known.

Jayalalithaa had stressed on winning all the 40 constituencies in the polls and asked the party functionaries and workers to strive to achieve her goal.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp