AIADMK MLA Venkataraman Sworn in

Published: 20th May 2014 06:00 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th May 2014 06:00 PM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: AIADMK leader V N P Venkataraman, who won the Alandur bypoll, was today sworn in as the Member of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.        

He was sworn in the presence of Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa and Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal at the Secretariat here.    

With the election of Venkataraman, the strength of AIADMK has gone up to 151 in the 234-member Assembly.  

The bypoll to Alandur, which was necessitated following resignation of former DMDK MLA Panrutty S Ramachandran, who also quit his party to join the Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK, was held along with the general elections on April 24.            

Venkataraman defeated his DMK rival R S Bharathy by a margin of 18,708 votes.

More from Tamil Nadu.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp