MLAs Take Oath

Published: 05th September 2014 06:04 AM  |   Last Updated: 05th September 2014 06:04 AM   |  A+A-


PUDUCHERRY: V Bhalan and  J Ayyanar of AINRC and M Visweswaran, State president of the BJP, who were appointed as  nominated MLAs to the Territorial Assembly took oath of office on Thursday.

Speaker V Sabapathy administered the oath  to the new members at a function held in his chamber in the Legislative Assembly in presence of Chief Minister N Rangasamy and his Cabinet colleagues.

With this, the Assembly would function with its full strength of 33.

The strength of  ruling AINRC has gone up to 17 and enjoys the  support of  a BJP member and an independent member. The Opposition Congress has seven, AIADMK has five and DMK two. There was rejoicing among the supporters of the MLAs, particularly among the BJP  who now have a member in the Assembly after eight years.

The nominated legislators are entitled to receive all rights and benefits on a par with elected MLAs.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp