No Surprises as AIADMK Sweeps Bypolls

Published: 23rd September 2014 06:05 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd September 2014 06:05 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: The ruling AIADMK on Monday swept the by-elections to 530 local body posts that went to polls in the State recently. Of the 119 local body posts which were contested on party lines, the AIADMK won 101, including key contests such as the mayoral elections in Coimbatore and Tuticorin and in four municipalities — Vriddhachalam, Arakkonam, Ramanathapuram and Cuddalore. Besides, the party nominees have also won in six town panchayats — Sulur, Irugur, Omalur, Sundarapandiapuram, Thirumuruganpoondi and Madathukulam.

Already, the party’s mayoral nominee E Bhuvaneswari for Tirunelveli Corporation, and chairpersons of four municipalities — Coonoor, Pudukkottai, Kodaikanal and Sankarankovil — and the president of Abhiramam Town Panchayat in Ramanathapuram district have been elected unopposed. Social Welfare Minister B Valarmathi said the results show that the State remains the stronghold of the AIADMK led by Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa.

Of the 80 urban local body posts for which elections were conducted, the AIADMK won 67. The party nominees have won in all eight wards in three municipal corporations. Similarly, it has won 20 out of 23 municipal wards it contested. The party has also won elections for 27 wards in town panchayats. While the BJP bagged five town panchayat ward member posts, three went to the Congress and independents won two. Independents also won in three municipal wards. In Chennai, David Gunasekaran, AIADMK nominee in Ward No. 35 has been declared elected.

Of the seven district panchayat ward members, six are AIADMK nominees — from Erode, Krishnagiri, Namakkal, Tuticorin, Tirupur and Tiruvannamalai.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp