7 More Parties Extend Support to AIADMK

MJK leader Thamimun Ansari and others meet aiadmk chief Jayalalithaa; in all, 700 organisations, outfits back the party in the past 2 weeks.

Published: 03rd April 2016 04:48 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd April 2016 04:51 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: Leaders of seven political parties on Saturday called on AIADMK general secretary and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa at her residence and extended their support to the ruling party for the Assembly elections.

In the past two weeks, around 700 organisations and social outfits have assured support to the AIADMK. They met a team of senior Ministers headed by O Panneerselvam and conveyed their decision.

Meanwhile, veteran film director R Sundarrajan joined the AIADMK and received the membership card from Jayalalithaa. Senior Ministers R Vaithilingam and K Palanisamy were present. Sundararrajan hailed the welfare schemes, particularly the Amma canteens. He vowed to work for the victory of the AIADMK in this election.


Those who have extended their support to AIADMK on Saturday were: Thamimun Ansari (Manithaneya Jananayaka Katchi), N Sethuraman  (Moovendar Munnani Kazhagam), Jagan Murthi (Puratchi Bharatham Katchi), Sridhar Vandaiyar  (Moovendar Munnetra Kazhagam), Fathima Muzzafar, daughter of late IUML leader Abdul Samad, K Sellamuthu (Uzhavar Uzhappalar Katchi) and John Pandiyan (Tamizhaga Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam).

Thamimun Ansari told mediapersons that the AIADMK would win more than 200 Assembly constituencies in the elections and and that the MJK would work for the victory of the AIADMK.  A list of constituencies the MJK wished to contest was given to Jayalalithaa, he said but declined to name them.

N Sethuraman said his party was expecting five seats in the AIADMK alliance. John Pandiyan said his party had put forth some demands and expressed confidence that they would be considered favourably.  Already, RPI led by C K Thamizharasan, Tamizhaga Vazhvurimai Katchi led by T Velmurugan, Samathuva Makkal Katchi led by R Sarathkumar, Samathuva Makkal Kazhagam president Ernavur Narayanan, Tamil Nadu Kongu Ilaignar Peravai Founder Organiser U Thaniyarasu, MLA,  All India Forward Bloc leader and Usilampatti MLA P V Kathiravan have met Jayalalithaa.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp