Jaya Changes Party Nominee for Arupukottai

Jaya said, Vaigaiselvan, also a former minister, was being fielded in place of M G Muthuraja as Aruppukottai candidate .

Published: 06th April 2016 02:56 AM  |   Last Updated: 06th April 2016 05:02 AM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: A day after announcing candidates for 227 Assembly constituencies for the May 16 polls, AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa today changed her party nominee for Aruppukottai, fielding sitting MLA Vaigaiselvan.

Jayalalithaa said in a statement that Vaigaiselvan, also a former minister, was being fielded in place of M G Muthuraja whom she had announced as candidate for Aruppukottai while releasing her party's candidate list yesterday.

She did not assign any reason for the change.

Vaigaiselvan, a fine orator, was School Education Minister in the Jayalalithaa cabinet but was removed by her later.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp