Two Counting Centres for 23 Constituencies in Puducherry

In a first, there will be two centres for counting of votes for the 23 Assembly constituencies in Puducherry.

Published: 06th April 2016 04:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 06th April 2016 05:01 AM   |  A+A-


PUDUCHERRY: In a first, there will be two centres for counting of votes for the 23 Assembly constituencies in Puducherry.

The two centres are Bharathidasan Government College for Women and Government's Polytechnic college for Women.

In various elections held earlier, the sole counting centre had been the Bharatidasan government college for women.

The Union Territory has 30 Assembly segments. Puducherry has 23 while its enclaves Karaikal has five and Mahe and Yanam regions one each.

The votes polled in Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam would be counted in the respective regions on May 19.

District Collector-cum-District Election Officer P Jawahar today inspected the preliminary arrangements at the two centres, accompanied by Election department officials.

An official release from Thammu Ganapathy, Nodal Officer counting) of the Election department said the opening of two counting centres was for smooth and prompt counting process.

The Bharathidasan Government College for Women will be the counting centre for 12 constituencies, while the remaining 11 will be the women's polytechnic college.

Counting of votes relating to five constituencies in Karaikal and one each in Mahe and Yanam regions will be held in the respective regions.

Puducherry goes to the polls on May 16.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp