Ministers Vie for Jayalalithaa's Nomination

On day one of filing of applications for AIADMK tickets, Ministers seek CM’s nomination from their segments

Published: 21st January 2016 05:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st January 2016 05:57 AM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: On day one of filing applications for AIADMK ticket to contest the Assembly elections, Ministers and party functionaries vied with each other in submitting applications on behalf of party leader and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa.

Over 20 Ministers, including Finance Minister and AIADMK treasurer O Panneerselvam, sought Jayalalithaa’s nomination from their respective constituencies.

A few thousands of applications were received by party aspirants and they should file the filled in applications by February 3. Seven counters have been opened for distributing the applications for Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry Union Territory while two counters are functioning for receiving the filled in applications.

Though the distribution of form was scheduled to start at 10.30 am, large number of party functionaries gathered at the AIADMK headquarters a couple of hours earlier. District secretaries, former MLAs, leaders of local bodies and office bearers of various wings were waiting in long queues. The first application was received by party presidium E Madhusudhanan. Many functionaries have filed more than one application in the name of Jayalalithaa.

DMK to receive papers from jan 24

Chennai: The DMK will begin receiving nominations from its members from January 24 to contest the 2016 Assembly elections, party general secretary K Anbazhagan announced on Wednesday. The last date for filing nominations would be February 10, Anbazhagan said and added that the nomination fees for general constituencies would be Rs 25,000 and Rs 15,000 for reserved seats.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp