Jaya releases councillor candidates for 12 corporations, Saidai Duraisamy denied ticket in Chennai

Published: 26th September 2016 01:44 PM  |   Last Updated: 26th September 2016 01:51 PM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: Taking the lead again in local body elections, AIADMK general secretary and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa released the list of party candidates for councillor posts in all 12 municipal corporations. The list was released just a couple of hours after the notification for the elections are issued.

Of the 12 Mayors, only three - from Salem, Tiruchy and Thanjavur - have been given party ticket to contest this time. In Salem, sitting Mayor S Soundappan is contesting again while Deputy Mayor M Natesan is also given party ticket again. 

In Tiruchy, sitting Mayor MSR Jaya is contesting from ward No 51 while former Mayor Charubala Thondaiman who had recently joined the AIADMK, is contesting from ward No.44

From Thanjavur, sitting Mayor Savithri Gopal is contesting again.

As far as Chennai Corporation is concerned, sitting Mayor Saidai S Duraisamy has been denied party ticket to contest the elections. However, a few former MLAs and senior functionaries have been given opportunity to contest this time. 

Of them, N Balaganga, party’s north Chennai district secretary N Balaganga who is contesting from ward No.78 and JCD Prabhakar, who is contesting from ward No.80 are the frontrunners for mayorship.

The other key functionaries who are contesting in Chennai are: JCD PrabhakarVNP Venkatraman, former MLA, Anandur constituency (ward 166), KP Kandan, former MLA and now secretary, Sozhinganallur west unit of the party and Neelankarai MC Munusamy (ward 192), secretary, AIADMK’s fishermen wing. 

Of the 200 wards, as per the 50 per cent reservation and the reservation for SC(women), 108 wards have gone to women in Chennai corporation.  Now, the AIADMK has fielded women candidates in 109 wards.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp