TN Speaker asks 19 MLAs why they can't be disqualified 

The 19 are part of the faction led by the now jailed AIADMK General Secretary V.K. Sasikala and her nephew T.T.V. Dinakaran.

Published: 24th August 2017 08:18 PM  |   Last Updated: 24th August 2017 08:18 PM   |  A+A-

TN Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal(Centre)


CHENNAI: The factional war in the ruling AIADMK intensified on Thursday with Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P. Dhanapal issuing notice to 19 MLAs who had rebelled against Chief Minister K. Palaniswami why they cannot be disqualified.

The 19 are part of the faction led by the now jailed AIADMK General Secretary V.K. Sasikala and her nephew T.T.V. Dinakaran.

The notice comes soon after AIADMK's Chief Whip S. Rajendran wrote to Dhanapal to disqualify the MLAs who have rebelled against the Chief Minister following the merger of the party's two main factions led by Palaniswami and former Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam.

The Speaker has asked the 19 legislators to reply within a week.

Upset over the coming together of the two major factions of the AIADMK, the 19 legislators have submitted a memorandum to Governor C. Vidyasagar Rao withdrawing their support to the Chief Minister.

AIADMK's Chief Whip Rajendran said that by withdrawing support to the Chief Minister, the dissenting MLAs had attracted the provision of the anti-defection law.

The Dinakaran faction, whose MLAs are now holed up in Puducherry, reacted sharply. A spokesman for the group said this was aimed at preventing more legislators from joining them.

The move comes as the opposition parties have been demanding the Chief Minister to prove his majority in the assembly.

Another legislator wondered whether asking for change of Chief Minister is a worse crime than voting against the government during a confidence vote -- that was done by the Panneerselvam group.

The AIADMK had 134 members in the Assembly (excluding the Speaker) and this has fallen to 115 without the support of the Dinakaran faction.

The Tamil Nadu Assembly has 234 seats. One seat is vacant due to the death of AIADMK leader J. Jayalalithaa.

Of the 233 members, the DMK has 89 members, the Congress 8 and the IUML 1. Speaker P. Dhanapal has only a casting vote in a tie. The DMK, Congress and IUML are in an alliance.

Meanwhile a case has been filed in the Madras High Court by an advocate for a direction to Governor to ask the Chief Minister to prove his legislative majority.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp