Tamil Nadu Speaker turns the screw, slaps notice on 19 TTV faction MLAs

Initiates steps to disqualify lawmakers in Dhinakaran’s camp on the request of chief whip; move comes after brainstorming by EPS and OPS to manage crisis

Published: 25th August 2017 01:38 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th August 2017 07:28 AM   |  A+A-

TN Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: A day after ousted deputy general secretary of AIADMK T T V Dhinakaran removed four ministers and several others from various posts of the party, the official faction retaliated by initiating steps to disqualify the 19 dissenting MLAs staying at a private resort in Puducherry.

Thursday marked hectic activities as the faction, led by Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, went into a huddle to discuss the political developments. The Chief Minister closeted with Speaker P Dhanapal, Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and his senior Cabinet colleagues in the morning.

They were stated to have discussed the threat posed by 19 MLAs owing allegiance to Dhinakaran by submitting letters to Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao. Later, the government’s chief whip S Rajendran told reporters that he had requested the Speaker to take action to disqualify the 19 dissenting MLAs.

“I submitted a memorandum to the Speaker to disqualify the said members as per Section 6 of Members of Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on ground of defection) Rules, 1986,” he said.
The chief whip observed that when there was neither any decision nor resolution taken against the consensual decision of all AIADMK MLAs, 19 MLAs have submitted letters to the Governor against the party’s legislature leadership saying they had withdrawn their support to the Chief Minister as reported in the media. Moreover, the MLAs have also given interviews to television channels on those lines, he said.
“Such act renders them relinquishing the membership of the party they belong to, making them liable for disqualification under Schedule 10 of  the Indian Constitution,” Rajendran explained.

Subsequently, the Speaker issued notices to the dissenting MLAs, sources said. The legislators facing the risk of disqualification are: T V Ezhumalai (Poonamallee), P Vetrivel (Perambur), M Kothandapani (Tiruporur), N G Parthiban (Sholingur), C Jayanthi Padmanabhan (Gudiyatham), R Balasubramni (Ambur), P Palaniappan (Pappireddipatti), R Murugan (Harur), R Thangadurai (Nilakottai), V Senthilbalaji (Aravakurichi), M Rangasamy (Thanjavur), S Mariappan Kennedy (Manamadurai), Thanga Tamilselvan (Andipatti), Dr K Kathirkamu (Periakulam), S T K Jakkaiyan (Cumbum), S G Subramanian (Sathur), Dr S Muthaiah (Paramakudi), K Uma Maheshwari (Vilathikulam) and R Sundararaj (Ottapidaram).

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp