Tamil Nadu: First by-election loss for ruling party in 13 years

As a rule, by-elections are predictable and boring. The thumb rule says they go in favour of the ruling party.

Published: 25th December 2017 01:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th December 2017 09:17 AM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

PUDUKKOTTAI: As a rule, by-elections are predictable and boring. The thumb rule says they go in favour of the ruling party. AIADMK rebel T T V Dhinakaran bucked the trend by winning the RK Nagar as an Independent. In fact, he is the fifth person in Tamil Nadu to have snatched victory out of the hands of ruling parties in Assembly bypolls since 1991.Winning by-elections acquired added importance in the State since 1991 after J Jayalalithaa came to power. Remember her first tenure as chief minister (1991-1996)? A humongous Jaya wave swept DMK away, leaving party chief M Karunanidhi as the lone winner. He resigned his Chennai Harbour seat immediately, following which by-election was called in 1991.

DMK fielded Selvarasan, who defeated K Subbu of the Congress by 3,236 votes. Subbu lost though the Congress was in alliance with the ruling AIADMK. While Selvarasan polled 19,347 votes, Subbu secured 16, 111. In 1999, when DMK returned to power, there were upset victories in two Assembly by-elections at Natham in Dindugal district and Thiruvattar in Kanniyakumari district.

In Natham, AIADMK’s R Viswanathan polled 38,764, defeating MDMK’s P Chellam — DMK coalition candidate — by over 7,000 votes. Chellam got 31, 220 votes. The bypoll was necessitated because of the death of M Andi Ambalam of Tamil Maanila Congress. In the Thiruvattaur bypoll, CPM’s J Hemachandran wrested the seat from the ruling DMK by defeating its candidate A Pushpa Leela Alban. The by-election happened following the death of DMK’s Dr V Alban.

Five years later in 2004 when the AIADMK was back in power, by-election was conducted to Mangalore Assembly constituency of Cuddalore district following the resignation of VCK chief Thol Thirumavalavan. The bypoll was held along with the Lok Sabha elections. In this by-election, V Ganeshan of DMK secured 61,956 votes and won the seat, while AIADMK’s K Ramalingam could manage only 48,070.

Needless to say, in all other by-elections conducted since 1991, the ruling parties emerged victorious.
Dhinakaran in the first candidate in 13 long years to defeat the ruling party in a by-election. Thirteen? Isn’t that seen as inauspicious? 

Other opposition bypoll winners in TN since 1991
Selvarasan (DMK)
R Viswanathan (AIADMK) 
J Hemachandran (CPM)
V Ganeshan (DMK)

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp