Edappadi retains Panneerselvam’s Cabinet, save one; here's the list of ministers

As chief minister, Palanisami will handle all portfolios held by the outgoing chief minister, including Home, Finance and PWD (Public Works Department).

Published: 16th February 2017 04:37 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th February 2017 04:37 PM   |  A+A-

Edappadi Palanisamy nominated by Sasikala meets Governor and stakes his claim to form the Government. | Express File Photo

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Chief Minister-designate ‘Edappadi’ K Palanisamy adopted rebel leader Chief Minister O Panneerselvam’s cabinet almost as it is, barring two exceptions – Panneerselvam himself and his colleague 'Ma Foi' K Pandiarajan.

In the latter’s spot, AIADMK presidium chairman KA Sengottaiyan was accommodated into the cabinet. The council of ministers will be sworn-in in a short while, along with the new chief minister.

As chief minister, Palanisami will handle all portfolios held by the outgoing chief minister, including Home, Finance and PWD (Public Works Department). He will continue to hold the portfolios he was entrusted with so far - Highways and Minor Ports.

School Education portfolio held by K Pandiarajan has been allocated to AIADMK presidium chairman KA Sengottaiyan. The portfolios of other ministers have been retained.

Panneerselvam's Cabinet had 32 ministers including himself. Now, there are 31 in the Cabinet headed by Palanisamy. The new council of ministers will be administered the oath of office by Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao at 4.30 pm at a simple function to be held at Raj Bhavan.

Here is the list of ministers:

‘Dindigul’ C Srinivasan (Forests)

‘Sellur’ K Raju (Co-operation)

P Thangamani (Electricity, Prohibition, and Excise),

SP Velumani (Municipal Administration, Rural Development and Implementation of Special Programme)

D Jayakumar (Fisheries)

C Ve Shanmugam (Law, Courts, and Prisons)

KP Anbalagan (Higher Education)

V Saroja (Social Welfare and Nutritious Noon Meal Programme)

MC Sampath (Industries)

KC Karuppannan (Environment)

R Kamaraj (Food and Civil Supplies)

OS Manian (Handlooms and Textiles)

‘Udumalai’ K Radhakrishnan.(Housing and Urban Development)

C Vijaya Baskar (Health and Family Welfare)

R Doraikkannu (Agriculture)

‘Kadambur’ Raju (Information and Publicity)

RB Udhayakumar (Revenue)

‘Vellamandi’ N Natarajan (Tourism)

KC Veeramani (Commercial Taxes)

KT Rajenthra Bhalaji (Milk and Dairy Development)

P Benjamin (Rural Industries)

Nilofer Kafeel (Labour)

MR Vijayabhaskar ( Transport)

M Manikandan (Information Technology)

VM Rajalakshmi (Adi Dravidar and Tribal Welfare)

G Baskaran (Khadi and Village Industries Board)

‘Sevvoor’ S Ramachandran (Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments)

S Valarmathi (Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare) and

P Balakrishna Reddy (Animal Husbandry).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp