AIADMK, PMK likely to forgo no-trust vote

CM indicates that party will abstain from voting for motion moved to highlight issues of Andhra.

Published: 20th July 2018 03:54 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th July 2018 03:54 AM   |  A+A-

Tamil Nadu CM Edappadi K Palaniswami | File photo

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: The MPs belonging to the AIADMK and the PMK are likely to abstain from the vote on a no-confidence motion against NDA government at the Centre on Friday.

While Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami has given a clear indication that his party would not support the motion sponsored by opposition parties, PMK MP Anbumani Ramadoss will not take part in the discussion on the motion since he has ‘pre-occupations’ at Thailapuram to address a Party meeting during the next two days.

Answering a query about the AIADMK’s stand on the motion, the Chief Minister said at Mettur, that the Telugu Desam party was moving the motion to highlight the problems faced by Andhra Pradesh. “Tamil Nadu MPs had stalled the proceedings of Parliament for 22 days over Cauvery water dispute.  Who raised their voice in support of Tamil Nadu? Which State came forward to extend help to resolve the Cauvery water dispute? None,” Palaniswami said indicating that the AIADMK would not support the no-confidence motion.

AIADMK sources said the party MPs would take part in the discussion on the no-confidence motion and are likely to raise the issues faced by Tamil Nadu, but would abstain from voting.  Meanwhile, AIADMK has been allocated 29 minutes to speak on the no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha.  

Meanwhile, supporters of BJP and DMK engaged in a war of words  in social media with hashtags - #ZeroMpDMK and #ZeroGovernanceBJP.  Following the statement of DMK working president MK Stalin that his party would extend moral support to opposition parties with regard to the motion, BJP supporters raised the question how DMK could extend support since it had no representation in the Lok Sabha and created the hashtag  #ZeroMpDMK.  Countering, DMK followers created a hashtag -  #ZeroGovernanceBJP, criticising the four-year rule of NDA government at the Centre.

Final decision by high-level panel

A final decision on the AIADMK’s stand in the Parliament during the no-confidence motion on Friday will be taken by a high-level committee of the party, said Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam on Thursday


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp