AIADMK MLAs disqualification: Here is a timeline of events after former Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa's death

The much-awaited verdict on the 18 MLA's disqualification case came was a split between the two judges, thus leaving the MLAs' fate hanging. 

Published: 14th June 2018 05:55 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th June 2018 08:02 AM   |  A+A-

Tamil Nadu Deputy CM O Panneerselvam and CM Edappadi K Palaniswami (File photo)

By Online Desk

The split verdict of the Madras High Court Bench on the disqualification of 18 AIADMK MLAs, pronounced Thursday, has come as a breather for the government headed by Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami as a floor test cannot be conducted until a third judge hears the case and delivers a verdict. The verdict will have huge political implications.

During the past year, the political scenario in Tamil Nadu has been ever-changing.

Here's a timeline of events that happened in the past year explaining the political turmoil that erupted after J Jayalalithaa's death:

Dec. 5, 2016: Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and the then AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa passed away.

Dec. 6, 2016: Following Jaya's demise, O Panneerselvam swore in as the Chief Minister.

Dec. 31, 2016: Jaya's aide V K Sasikala takes over as the AIADMK General Secretary.

Feb. 5, 2017: With the growing popularity in the party, Sasikala was unanimously elected as the AIADMK head, thus taking the place of Amma.

Feb. 14, 2017: But the AIADMK once again lost their leader after the Supreme Court set aside the Karnataka High Court Order, and convicted Sasikala in disproportionate assets case. Edappadi Palaniswami was elected as the next AIADMK party president. Twenty rebel MLA's including the sitting CM O. Panneerselvam was expelled from the party.

Feb. 16, 2017: Palaniswami swore in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

Feb. 18, 2017: Palaniswami government passes the litmus test by proving majority in the state assembly after the eviction of DMK MLAs. Stalin was manhandled and brought out of the house by Marshalls.

Mar. 22, 2017: The Election Commission freezes AIADMK's traditional 'two-leaves' symbol for the R K Nagar by-election in Chennai, thereby recognising the split in the party. The seat was vacant since the demise of Jayalalithaa.

April 10, 2017: R K Nagar by-elections to be held on April 12 were cancelled by the Election Commission after the tapes of 'cash for vote' surfaced in the media. The videos show cash being distributed for votes. The Income Tax officials alleged that Sasikala fraction of the AIADMK paid money to the voters.

April 18, 2017: Palaniswami-lead AIADMK revolts against the jailed party General Secretary Sasikala and decides to keep the Mannargudi family away from the party affairs.

Aug. 21, 2017: The O Panneerselvam and Palaniswami fractions of AIADMK merged and the former became the Tamil Nadu, Deputy CM.

Aug. 22, 2017: Sasikala's nephew TTV Dhinakarn threatens to pull down the government with the support of 18 AIADMK MLAs.

Aug. 22, 2017: The MLAs, led by Dhinakaran met the then Tamil Nadu Governor C.Vidyasagar Rao and also held a press meet later.

Sept. 12, 2017: AIADMK general council removes V K Sasikala from the interim general secretary post and also disqualifies her decisions from 30 December 2016 to February 15, 2017.

Sept. 18, 2017: Tamil Nadu Speaker expels 19 MLAs owing allegiance to Dhinakara after the Chief whip S Rajendran petitioning him. Later on, one of the MLA's Mr Jakkaiyyan was let off after he personally met the speaker.

Dec. 24, 2017: Dhinakarn wins the RK Nagar by-elections as an independent MLA with 'pressure cooker' as the symbol.

Mar. 15, 2018: Dhinakaran launches his own political party Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam.

June 14, 2018: The two-judge Madras High Court bench gives a split verdict. The case is now referred to a three-judge bench.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp