Justice M Sathyanarayanan of Madras HC to hear the plea of disqualified AIADMK MLAs: Supreme Court

The vacation bench of the Supreme Court passed the order on a plea by some of the disqualified MLAs who were seeking transfer of their petition challenging their disqualification.

Published: 27th June 2018 01:25 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th June 2018 03:35 AM   |  A+A-

18 MLAs from the TTV Dhinakaran faction who have been disqualified under the anti-defecection law. (File photo)

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: The Supreme Court on Wednesday appointed Justice M Satyanarayana as the third judge to hear the disqualification plea of 18 AIADMK MLAs while refusing to transfer the case from Madras High Court to apex court.

The vacation bench of Justices Arun Mishra and S K Kaul also pulled up the 17 MLAs — of the 18 disqualified —  who had approached the SC for making irresponsible statements regarding the delay in delivering judgment. It asked the petitioners to withdraw remarks made against Justice S Vimala, originally appointed to hear the case, and expunged the remarks.

“We make it clear that this casts no aspersion on the judge who had been appointed to hear the matter...,” the order reads.

A Madras HC bench had delivered a split verdict on whether the 18 MLAs deserved to be disqualified.

The appeal for transfer of the case came as HC had given no time frame for a decision. During the hearing, the SC also rejected the MLAs’ plea for speedy disposal of the case, saying it was a call the HC had to take.

The 18 MLAs are loyalists of rebel AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran. HC had ruled that senior-most judge after chief justice would name a judge to hear the case afresh and Justice Vimala was picked.

The high court had delivered divergent verdicts on whether the 18 MLAs deserved to be disqualified under the anti-defection law by the speaker for approaching the Governor and seeking the removal of Chief Minister K Palaniswami.

The court had ruled that the senior-most judge after the high court Chief Justice would now hand-pick a third judge bench, who will then hear the matter afresh.

Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal had on September 18 last year disqualified the 18 MLAs owing allegiance to side-lined party leader T T V Dhinakaran on the grounds that they had tried to pull down the AIADMK government in the state.

Justice M Satyanarayana

Justice M Satyanarayana was born in Dindigul to N Meenakshi Sundaram, a retired District Judge. He studied in Vaishnav College and completed law course in Dr Ambedkar Government Law College in Chennai and enrolled himself as a lawyer with the Bar Council of Tamil Nadu, in 1983.

He was elevated from the Bar to the High Court bench as an additional judge on April 23, 2008 and he was made a permanent judge in November 2009. He is now adorning the bench at the seventh place, in seniority.

(with PTI inputs)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp