Battered Congress finds succour in Karti’s win

There was a marginal decrease in the number of NOTA votes, with 1,818 preferring no candidate against the 2016’s figure of 2,193.

Published: 25th May 2019 04:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th May 2019 04:14 AM   |  A+A-

Karti Chidambaram ( File | PTI )

By Express News Service

SIVAGANGA: Thursday brought slight relief to the beleaguered Congress when it retained the Sivaganga constituency, with Karti P Chidambaram pipping his main challenger from BJP H Raja to the post. Rest all contenders lost their deposits as they failed to clear the magic figure of 1,88,702 votes. Manamadurai Assembly segment too saw a similar fate befalling all bypoll candidates, except those of AIADMK and DMK. 

In Sivaganga, 27 candidates, including DMK alliance’s Karti P Chidambaram and AIADMK alliance’s BJP nominee H Raja, were in the fray. Karti won handsomely, bagging 5,66,104 votes – 4,61,426 more than he secured in 2014. Karti was contesting the MP election for the second time from here. 

H Raja managed to secure 2,33,860 votes – 1,00,097 more than his 2014 tally. The vote percentage of Karti stood at 52.19, while it was 21.55 for H Raja. 

The results were interesting insofar as deposits were concerned. Apart from Karti and Raja none could take home their deposit. Only four others – MNM’s Snehan (22,931), NTK’s Sakti Priya (72,240), AMMK’s V Pandi (1,22,534) and independent candidate P Rajendhiran (11,167) – crossed the 10,000 mark. 

B Manickam TagoreManamadurai presented a similar picture, with AIADMK’s S Nagarajan winning by a margin of 8,194 votes. Nagarajan polled 85,228 votes against DMK’s Ilakkiyadasan K’s 77,034 votes to ensure the segment was retained by the AIADMK.

Former AIADMK MLA Mariappan Kennedy garnered 20,395 under the AMMK’s banner.  Apart from Ilakkiyadasan and Nagarajan, all others lost their deposits. There was a marginal decrease in the number of NOTA votes, with 1,818 preferring no candidate against the 2016’s figure of 2,193.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp