Speaker initiated action on disqualification of 11 AIADMK MLAs: Tamil Nadu government to SC

The court took note of the submission and disposed of the petition filed by the DMK.

Published: 14th February 2020 12:43 PM  |   Last Updated: 14th February 2020 12:44 PM   |  A+A-

Tamil Nadu Deputy CM O Panneerselvam

Tamil Nadu deputy CM O Panneerselvam (File Photo | EPS)


NEW DELHI: The Tamil Nadu government informed the Supreme Court on Friday the Assembly Speaker has initiated action on DMK petition alleging the speaker did not act on a plea seeking disqualification of 11 AIADMK lawmakers voted against Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami during a 2017 confidence vote.

The 11 lawmakers included Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam. A bench comprising Chief Justice SA Bobde, Justice BR Gavai and Justice Surya Kant took note of the submission and disposed of the petition filed by the DMK.

The plea had sought disqualification of Panneerselvam and 10 others for having voted against the Palaniswami government when they were in the rebel camp.

It had contended that by voting against the trust motion, these MLAs violated the whip issued by the ruling party and hence attracted disqualification under the anti-defection law. Senior advocate Kapil Sibal and advocate Amit Anand Tiwari appeared for the DMK in the case.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp