Durai Murugan elected general secy of DMK

TR Baalu becomes the treasurer; both were elected unopposed 

Published: 04th September 2020 06:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th September 2020 06:01 AM   |  A+A-

DMK leader Durai Murugan

DMK leader Durai Murugan (File Photo | EPS)

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: S Durai Murugan and T R Baalu were elected as DMK general secretary and treasurer on Thursday. Both were elected unopposed. Durai Murugan succeeded K Anbazhagan, who was party general secretary for 43 years, until his death in March.

The party had invited applications for both the posts ahead of its general body meeting scheduled for September 9. Durai Murugan submitted his nomination at the party headquarters in Anna Arivalayam on Thursday. Several party functionaries, including Alandur MLA TM Anbararsan also submitted applications on Durai Murugan’s behalf. Similarly, DMK’s floor leader in the Lok Sabha, Baalu also submitted his papers at Anna Arivalayam.

“There were no other contenders for both posts,” party sources said. By evening, party cadre began to extend wishes to both leaders, even before the leadership officially declared them elected. The duo will take charge after the DMK general body approves the election as per party by-laws during the September 9 meeting, which will be held online.

Both will be stepping into the shoes of Dravidian movement giants. The DMK general secretary post was previously held by party founder CN Annadurai, former ministers VR Nedunchezhiyan and Mathiyazhagan, before Anbazhagan took charge in 1978. Previous treasurers of the party include the late M K Karunanidhi, MG Ramachandran and MK Stalin.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp