Telangana elections: Devoid of hype and hoopla, BJP quietly carrying on with its strategic campaign

BJP have been involving their dedicated cadre as well as leaders from neighbouring Karnataka in luring voters at booth level.

Published: 22nd October 2018 08:29 PM  |   Last Updated: 22nd October 2018 08:29 PM   |  A+A-

BJP flags

For representational purposes (File | EPS)

By Express News Service

MAHBUBNAGAR: With the primary objective of winning maximum number of seats as well as enhance its voter base, the Bharatiya Janata Party has not only been sending their dedicated cadre to every nook and corner of the constituencies but has also been involving MLAs and senior leaders from neighbouring Karnataka to campaign for the party ahead of December 7 Assembly elections.

Though by now it is clear that the saffron party is determined to expand its base in the southern States in general and Telangana in particular, what many may not know is how the party's faithful are quietly carrying on with their campaigning - without any hype or hoopla.

While the party has roped in MLAs from Karnataka to campaign for the party in Mahbubnagar, the BJP has been involving 50 to 100 active party workers in each Assembly constituency of the district to campaign for their candidates.

According to party sources, the BJP is focusing on four Assembly segments in each Parliamentary constituency of the district with the aim of winning a minimum of two constituencies.

In Nagarkurnool Parliamentary constituency, the party will be focussing on Kalwakurthy, Achampeta, Nagarkurnool and Wanaparthy Assembly constituencies. The party's focus in Mahbubnagar Parliamentary constituency will be on Mahbubnagar, Devarakadra, Narayanpeta and Maktal constituencies.

Determined to achieve their targets, the party is adopting a slightly different strategy in their campaign - involving all the affiliates and Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh volunteers.

The party has also been involving Shakti Kendras to propagate the achievements and success of Central government's schemes at the polling booth level, with each member being assigned ten families.

Five names finalised

Meanwhile, the BJP has already finalised the names of candidates for the five Assembly constituencies in the district and they are Talloju Achary (Kalwakurthy), Rathang Panduranga Reddy (Narayanpet), Venkat NarayanReddy (Gadwal), Amarender Reddy (Wanparthy), Mallesh (Achampet) and Srivardhan Reddy (Shadnagar).

BJP district president Padmaja Reddy informed Express that the names of candidates for the remaining seven constituencies will be finalised within a week.

The party is already scrutinising the credentials of the aspiring candidates like Rajini Reddy (for Alampur seat), Paladi Rammohan, Rapothula Srinivas Goud and Veera Bramha Chary (Jadcherla), Yeggani Narsimulu (Devarakadra), Dileeep Achary and Ravinder Reddy (Nagarkurnool), Sudhakar Rao and Darasingh (Kollapur), and Nagurao Namoji (Kodangal).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp