TRS fields little-known candidates in Old City

The names of these candidates are hardly known by majority of the TRS leaders in the city.

Published: 07th September 2018 04:22 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th September 2018 04:22 AM   |  A+A-

Telangana Chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao (FIle | EPS)

By Express News Service

HYDERABAD: Though KCR claimed his party would fight it alone in the forthcoming elections even while maintaining friendly alliance with Majilis Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) party, he has announced five candidates to contest in areas dominated by the MIM -- Yakathpura, Chandrayanagutta, Karwan,  Bahdurpura  and Nampally.

The move to announce the TRS candidates is allegedly to divide the Hindu votes in Old City and make it easy for MIM to win the seats. The candidates announced by TRS include Sama Sundar Reddy (Yakuthpura), M Seetharam Reddy (Chandrayanagutta),  T Jeevan Singh (Karwan), Inayath Ali Baqri (Bahsdarpura) and  Munukuntla Anand Goud (Nampally).

The names of these candidates are hardly known by majority of the TRS leaders in the city. TRS leaders said that the idea of allowing these candidates to contest the polls is reportedly to divide the Hindu votes between the contesting Hindu candidates; this would benefit the MIM. 

Similarly, except for Uppal constituency, TRS did not announce names for Assembly constituencies of Amberpet, Khairatabad, Goshamahal and Musheerabad in the first list. These are currently held by BJP MLAs G Kishen Reddy, Chintala Ramachandra Reddy, T Raja Singh and K Laxman. For Uppal constituency, TRS has announced the candidature of B Subash Reddy who is little known among the party circle.  

Chandrasekhar Rao said there will be no truck with any other parties in the State for next elections. “The TRS is not a friendly party with the BJP-led NDA Government at the Centre and only supported a few schemes”.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp