TRS announces candidates for all 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana

TRS has fielded a nominee (Puste Srikanth) from Hyderabad where the partys ally AIMIMs president Asaduddin Owaisi is in the fray.

Published: 22nd March 2019 02:17 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd March 2019 02:17 AM   |  A+A-

Chandrasekhar Rao

TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao (File | EPS)


HYDERABAD: Telangana Rashtra Samithi MP K Kavitha, daughter of party supremo and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, will seek re-election from the Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency,as the TRS announced the list of 17 candidates for the April 11 Lok Sabha polls Thursday.

TRS has fielded a nominee (Puste Srikanth) from Hyderabad where the partys ally AIMIMs president Asaduddin Owaisi is in the fray.

TRS has been appealing to people to make Owaisi victorious in Hyderabad. Though the party announced a candidate, the contest between the AIMIM and TRS is unlikely to be a serious one.

Among others, the party has re-nominated B Vinod Kumar from Karimnagar. Few MPs have, however, been denied tickets. Sitting MP from Mahabubnagar A P Jitender Reddy failed to get the ticket and Manne Srinivasa Reddy has replaced him as the nominee from the constituency.


Vemireddy Narasimha Reddy would take on Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) president N Uttam Kumar Reddy in Nalgonda.

The candidate from Khammam Lok Sabha seat is TDP polit bureau member Nama Nageswara Rao who joined the TRS on Thursday. Nageswara Rao had represented Khammam as a TDP member earlier.

The other Lok Sabha nominees are B Venkatesh Nethakani (Peddapalli), G Nagesh (Adilabad), BB Patil (Zahirabad), Kotha Prabhakar Reddy (Medak); Pasunoori Dayakar (Warangal), Maloth Kavitha (Mahabubabad), Bura Narsaiah Goud (Bhongir), Pothuganti Ramulu (Nagarkurnool), G Ranjith Reddy (Chevella); T Saikiran Yadav (Secunderabad) and Marri Rajasekhar Reddy (Malkajgiri).

Telangana goes to polls in the first phase on April 11.

Claiming that neither NDA nor UPA is in a position to form government on its own post-Lok Sabha elections, the TRS has been seeking 16 seats for itself and one (Hyderabad) for ally AIMIM to ensure that Telangana gets a better deal.

TRS sources said the party president has decided on fielding sitting MP from Nalgonda Gutha Sukhender Reddy and K Naveen Rao as the candidates for two vacancies among four that would arise in the Legislative Council soon. It was speculated that Sukhender Reddy and Naveen Rao would be candidates for the Lok Sabha polls.

Stay up to date on all the latest Telangana news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp