Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy resignation: 15% of legislators turned turncoats since Dec 2018

Interestingly, Korukanti Chandar is now TRS Peddapalli district president.

Published: 09th August 2022 03:39 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th August 2022 03:39 AM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

HYDERABAD: With the resignation of Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy as an MLA on Monday, around 15 per cent of legislators in the State switched their political loyalties after the TRS came to power for the second time post the general elections held in December, 2018. Immediately after Rajagopal Reddy tendered his resignation in the Speaker format on Monday, the State Legislature notified the Munugode Assembly seat vacancy. Now the State is poised for the fifth bypoll after December, 2018.

As many as 18 MLAs changed their political loyalties from December, 2018 to till date. However, only two of them resigned before donning the colours of other parties with Rajagopal Reddy being the second legislator to do so.

Eatala Rajender was the first and he had resigned from Huzurabad seat and won the bypoll on a BJP ticket. Of the 18 MLAs, 12 Congress legislators merged with the ruling TRS and the State Legislature issued a bulletin notifying the same on June 6, 2019. Two TDP MLAs too merged with the TRS on April 7, 2021.All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) MLA Korukanti Chandar Patel and an Independent MLA from Wyra, Lavudya Ramulu too are associated with the ruling party.

Interestingly, Korukanti Chandar is now TRS Peddapalli district president. In June 2021, the then Minister and TRS leader Eatala Rajender resigned as an MLA. Now, Rajagopal Reddy resigned as Congress MLA and he will contest again on a BJP ticket if bypoll is held for Munugode segment.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp