HDK predicts Karnataka Assembly polls to be held by December

Former Chief Minister and JD(S) leader H D Kumaraswamy said on Saturday that the Assembly elections will be held in the state by December of this year instead of April 2023.

Published: 31st July 2022 06:27 AM  |   Last Updated: 31st July 2022 06:27 AM   |  A+A-

Former Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy. (File Photo)

Former Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy. (File Photo)

BIDAR: Former Chief Minister and JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy said on Saturday that the Assembly elections will be held in the state by December of this year instead of April 2023. Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai was unlikely to complete his term, he said. 

Speaking to the media at Bidar, Kumaraswamy said that in anticipation of early elections, the Janata Dal (Secular) has already started selection of its candidates. The JD(S) will announce its ‘Pancha Ratna’ programme next month. This programme will focus on education, health, housing, farmers’ welfare and providing employment to women and youth besides social security schemes. The party had already chosen ‘A’ category Assembly constituencies, where the programme will be held in the first round. 

He appealed to people to support JD(S) party so that its government lasted a full five-year term. “There were enough resources for wealth creation in the State and there was no need to go to the Centre for it. Though waiving the loans of the farmers was not a permanent solution, he would try to find a permanent solution to the loan burden of the farmers,” Kumaraswamy said. 

Reacting to the state government’s decision to hand over the Praveen Nettaru murder case to the National Investigation Agency (NIA), he said that there were good police officers in the state. By handing over the case to NIA, the State government was trying to escape from its responsibility. To a query, Kumaraswamy said that there will be no hung Assembly in the State after the elections. Bidar South MLA and JD(S) deputy leader in assembly Bandeppa Khashempur, JD(S) district president Ramesh Patil Solpur, former minister N.B. Nabi, senior leader Ashok Kumar Karanji, Basavaraj Harurgeri were present.

Candidates list
Former chief minister H D Kumarswamy has announced the names of candidates of 7 out of 9 Assembly constituencies of Kalaburagi district here Saturday. Speaking at the party meeting, Kumarswamy said that JD (S) will field Nasir Hussain Ustad from Kalaburagi-North, Balraj Guttedar from Sedam, Sanjivan Yakapur from Chincholi, Shivakumar Natikar from Afzalpur, Maheshwari from Aland and Kedaralingaiah from Jewargi constituency. The party will announce the names of Kalaburagi-South and Chittapur constituencies shortly, he said.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp