Odisha: BJP, Cong ex-MLAs to fight Padampur bypoll

While the BJD is still scouting for a suitable candidate, the AICC announced the name of Sahu.

Published: 13th November 2022 09:53 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th November 2022 09:53 AM   |  A+A-

Pradip Purohit 

Former MLA Pradip Purohit 

BHUBANESWAR: With BJD yet to announce its candidate for the by-election to Padampur Assembly seat, the BJP and Congress on Saturday nominated former MLAs Pradip Purohit and Satya
Bhusan Sahu respectively for the poll battle scheduled on December 5.

“The BJP central election committee has approved the name of Pradip Purohit for the forthcoming by-election to Padampur,” said a release issued by national BJP general secretary Arun Singh.

While the BJD is still scouting for a suitable candidate, the AICC announced the name of Sahu. Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge has approved the candidature of Satya Bhusan Sahu as party candidate for the ensuing by-election to the Padampur Assembly constituency,” AICC General Secretary Mukul Wasnik said in a statement.

A three-time MLA from Padampur, Sahu had unsuccessfully contested for the seat in 2009 and 2019. A popular leader, Sahu secured 49,847 votes in 2009 and 32,787 votes in 2019. Purohit had unsuccessfully contested the Assembly election from Padampur constituency on a BJP ticket in 2009.

However, he trounced BJD candidate Bijaya Ranjan Singh Bariha in 2014 by a margin of over 4,500 votes. In 2019, Purohit lost the poll to Bariha by a margin of over 5,000 votes.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp