Nepal's Cabinet expansion likely by August 2

Cabinet to include eight members from PM Sher Bahadur Deuba's Nepali Congress, seven each from Janata Samajbadi Party and Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda''s CPN-Maoist Centre, according to reports.

published on : 1st August 2021

Nepal parties struggle to form a new government as deadline nears

The political stalemate comes at a time when the country is experiencing its worst COVID-19 surge with acute shortages of health facilities and oxygen for patients.

published on : 13th May 2021

Nepal SC quashes unification of PM Oli's CPN-UML and Prachanda-led CPN Maoist Center

Both Oli and the rival group claim to control the Nepal Communist Party and the issue is being disputed at the Election Commission.

published on : 8th March 2021

Nepal Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba resigns

Deuba was elected as the 40th Prime Minister on June 6 with the support from CPN (Maoist Centre) which is now a part of Left alliance and opting for merger with CPN-UML.

published on : 15th February 2018

Veteran communist leader KP Sharma Oli elected as Nepal's 41st Prime Minister

Oli, 65, served as the country's prime minister from October 11, 2015 to August 3, 2016. He is known for his pro-China stance.

published on : 15th February 2018