Chief Electoral Officer

10 candidates remain in fray for by-election

Ten candidates remained in fray for the Padampur bypoll to be held in December 5.

published on : 22nd November 2022

Inquiry ordered into alleged voter data theft after apprehension of impersonation: Chief EO K'taka  

According to Meena, in the city 6.73 lakh names were deleted and about three lakh new names added to the electoral roll.

published on : 20th November 2022

No proof of funds transfer by Rajagopal: Election Commission

It is now evident that the ruling party has gone one step ahead and was even looking into the bank accounts of the people.

published on : 2nd November 2022

Dhamnagar bypoll: BJP slams Odisha's Chief Electoral Officer, moves ECI over MCC violation

Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan also raised the issue of "conflict of interest" linked to CEO Lohani, who is also the principal secretary of the Panchayati Raj Department.

published on : 27th October 2022

Delhi BJP seeks action against AAP leader over ‘Pakistani’ jibe 

A delegation of Delhi BJP leaders headed by Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Ramvir Singh Bidhuri accused the AAP spokesperson of “insulting”.

published on : 18th June 2022

LED screens, audio system to hype Rajendra Nagar bypoll

In the 2020 polls, the voter turnout in Rajinder Nagar constituency was 58.27 per cent– 58.09 per cent for male voters and 58.50 per cent for female voters.

published on : 12th June 2022

Give financial reports: CEO to unrecognised political parties

The financial reports to be submitted must include the contribution reports in Form 24A,  the Audited Annual Accounts with Auditor Report and the Election Expenditure Statement.

published on : 29th May 2022

MK Meena takes charge as new Chief Electoral Officer of Andhra Pradesh

Senior IAS officer Mukesh Kumar Meena took charge as Chief Electoral Officer of Andhra Pradesh from his predecessor K Vijayanand at the Secretariat on Thursday.

published on : 20th May 2022

SP asks EC to webcast counting of votes

Uttam wrote in the letter that the webcast link was provided to the ECI, the CEO as well as the District Election Officer, and officials of the Commission were watching the voting "live".

published on : 9th March 2022

2,145 FIRs lodged for poll code violations during UP elections

Rs 103.56 crore cash, 17,640 kg drugs worth Rs 48.47 crore and over 22.94 litres of liquor worth Rs 62.13 crore were seized since the poll code came into effect on January 8.

published on : 8th March 2022

100 per cent webcasting of all polling booths in Tripura: Chief Electoral Officer Sriram Taranikanti

The CEO said the concerned district magistrates would monitor everything from their offices, adding presiding officers would provide inputs to corroborate the videos.

published on : 3rd April 2019

Karnataka polls: CEO says earliest poll results will be out by 1 PM

The final figures of districts such as Bengaluru Rural, Chikkaballapur and Kolar are available by 4 pm.

published on : 15th May 2018

Chief Electoral Officer says exact polling percentage to be out by Sunday, thanks voters

The Chief Electoral Officer-Karnataka Sanjiv Kumar on Saturday said that the exact percentage of polling will be known by Sunday morning after completion of demustering tonight. 

published on : 13th May 2018

Chennai: EC directs transfer of Commissioner ahead of RK Nagar bypoll

The ECI directed the Chief Electoral Officer of Tamil Nadu to transfer IPS Sudhakar, Joint Commissioner North, to a non-election post.

published on : 18th December 2017