Haryana results highlights: BJP looks to form government with support of independents

With the BJP falling short of the magic figure of 46 required for a majority, the party is now turning to independent MLAs, and not Dushyant Chautala's JJP, to return to power 

published on : 24th October 2019

Dushyant Chautala and family arrive at Haryana polling booth on tractor

Dushyant Chautala is being seen as the real inheritor of his great grandfather and former Deputy Prime Minister Devi Lal's political legacy.

published on : 21st October 2019

BJP looks to retain power, Congress eyes comeback as Haryana goes to polls on Monday

During the poll campaigning, the BJP made revoking provisions of Article 370 in Jammu and Kashmir and other issues surrounding nationalism a major poll plank.

published on : 20th October 2019

After announcing support to JJP, Ashok Tanwar decides to back Abhay Chautala on single seat

Tanwar's supporters were of the view that he and Abhay Chautala, seeking re-election from Ellenabad seat in Sirsa district, have the same objective of stopping the BJP from returning to power.

published on : 16th October 2019

Haryana polls: INLD manifesto promises loan waiver for farmers, small traders 

It also promised to give Rs 5 lakh to the women of economically-backwards sections on their marriage.

published on : 13th October 2019

Haryana polls: INLD promises loan waiver for farmers, Rs 15,000 unemployment allowance for youths

The manifesto for the October 21 Haryana polls was released by the party's state president, Birbal Das Dhalia.

published on : 12th October 2019

Outgoing Haryana Assembly passes 170 out of 174 Bills, says ADR report

Some of the bigwigs who haven’t asked a single question in Haryana Assembly during last five years include Congress leader Randeep Surjewala and BJP spokesperson Captain Abhimanyu.

published on : 8th October 2019

Haryana polls: Two former Congress MLAs join BJP

Welcoming the new leaders, at a programme held in Tilyar here, the Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar urged them to immediately join campaigning for the ruling party.

published on : 6th October 2019

Haryana remains fertile ground for turncoat politicians as many switch loyalties before polls

Five legislators of the INLD, four of whom switched sides by joining the JJP, were disqualified last month as members of the Assembly.

published on : 4th October 2019

Former INLD chief Ashok Arora, Haryana MLAs joins Congress

Three-time former member of Parliament Jay Prakash, an independent MLA from Kalayat, also joined the Congress.

published on : 16th September 2019

Two more INLD MLAs, one Independent MLA joins BJP in Haryana

A few days back INLD's Ratia MLA Ravinder Baliala had joined the saffron party along with Jagdish Yadav, a former Haryana minister.

published on : 5th August 2019