Karnataka Assembly polls

For 2023 Karnataka Assembly polls, JDS plans to field women in 30-35 constituencies

The JDS, which aims to reverse its fortunes by winning not less than 123 seats in the 2023 Karnataka Assembly elections, has decided to field women in at least 30-35 constituencies. 

published on : 30th September 2021

Kannadigas own party will come to power after 2023 assembly polls: HD Kumaraswamy 

JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy on Monday said his party will set a target of winning at least 123 seats.

published on : 27th September 2021

Karnataka Assembly polls 2023 in Congress sights, list to be ready a year ahead

The three main political parties — the BJP, the Congress and the JDS — are gearing up to face the upcoming election season.

published on : 10th August 2021

Not yet decided on where to contest in 2023 assembly polls: Former Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah

Making his debut in the Assembly in 1983, Siddaramaiah had got elected from Chamundeshwari on a Lok Dal Party ticket.

published on : 26th May 2021

This is my last election, fine with a Dalit Chief Minister: Siddaramaiah

Siddaramaiah exuded confidence that the Congress would get an absolute majority in Karnataka and ruled out any possibility of a tie-up with the JD(S).

published on : 13th May 2018

Caste polarisation may have forced Siddaramaiah to contest from two seats: watchers of the Assembly polls

According to some accounts, internal Congress surveys indicated a tough battle for the chief minister in Chamundeshwari.

published on : 24th April 2018

Congress stands good chance of winning Karnataka Assembly polls: Mallikarjun Kharge

Mallikarjun Kharge said the Congress high-command will choose the chief minister in consultation with the newly elected MLAs, if the party is voted to power for a second term running

published on : 24th April 2018

Karnataka to play a key role in Congress revival like it did in 1977: Koliwad

When Indira Gandhi lost in 1977, it was Karnataka that helped her regain foot hold in country's polity, the state will do the same this time, says senior Congress leader Koliwad.

published on : 9th April 2018

Karnataka: Congress complains to EC on BJP President Amit Shah's poll code 'violation'

Congress complained to the Election Commission against Amit Shah's alleged violation of the election code by terming Chief Minister Siddaramaiah 'anti-Hindu'.

published on : 28th March 2018

Congress to announce all candidates for Karnataka polls in single phase

The Karnataka Congress today said all candidates for the 224-member state assembly polls will be announced in a single phase by April 15.

published on : 28th March 2018

Election Commission sets up panel to probe Karnataka poll date leak

EC referred to a tweet by BJP IT cell chief Amit Malviya in which he had put out the election date minutes before CEC O P Rawat actually announced the schedule at a press conference.

published on : 27th March 2018

Asaduddin Owaisi led AIMIM to contest in Karnataka polls

The party would go at it alone in the May 12 elections and is not looking at electoral tie-up,AIMIM sources said.

published on : 27th March 2018

Congress doesn't expect "too much" of electoral gain on Lingayat issue: Karnataka PCC chief G Parameshwara

KPCC President maintained that there was no politics in Siddaramaiah government's move for a separate religious minority status for Lingayats and Veerashaiva Lingayats.

published on : 27th March 2018

Facebook to remain EC's social media partner: Chief Election Commissioner O P Rawat

OP Rawat was asked if the Facebook would continue to be the EC's social media partner in the wake of reports that its user data had been harvested by a company without the users' consent.

published on : 27th March 2018

Oops! Amit Shah says 'Yeddyurappa the most corrupt CM'; Siddaramaiah says BJP president is correct

Yeddyurappa, who was rattled over Amit Shah's faux pas, leaned over to Shah in a bid to correct him. Another BJP leader nudged the party president to make him realise that he had made a blunder.

published on : 27th March 2018
1 2 >