Kerala Congres

Make-or-break battle for Kerala Congress factions

In first assembly elections since death of stalwarts K M Mani and C F Thomas, party breakaway groups lock horns in 5 constituencies

published on : 6th April 2021

KC(M) leader Jose K Mani's statement on 'Love Jihad' kicks up row in poll-bound Kerala

CPI state secretary Kanam Rajendran said if Jose K Mani has made such a statement on 'Love Jihad', that is his party's opinion.

published on : 29th March 2021

PJ Joseph, Mons quit MLA posts; uncertainty prevails over poll symbol

Joseph and Mons had won the previous election as KC (M) candidates and hence decided to resign their positions as part of the move to avoid legal and technical issues in contesting the election.

published on : 20th March 2021

Two-time MP and veteran Kerala Congress leader Scaria Thomas dies at 74

Scaria Thomas represented Kottayam in the Lok Sabha for two terms in 1977 and 1980 under KC-M. He was undergoing treatment for post-Covid health complications at a private hospital in Kochi.

published on : 18th March 2021

Kerala Congress - Party having two MLAs merges with one with none

Speaking on the occasion, Thomas said the original Kerala Congress without any brackets, formed in 1964, has become a reality once again.

published on : 18th March 2021

Kerala Congress (M) symbol row: SC dismisses PJ Joseph plea challenging EC order

In a majority verdict, the SC had held that the Jose K Mani faction was the Kerala Congress (Mani) and entitled to use its name and its reserved symbol Two Leave.

published on : 15th March 2021

Kerala polls: Fresh faces in 'better' list, women's expectation falls flat for Congress candidature

The list of candidates - announced by the party's Kerala president Mullappally Ramachandran in New Delhi on Sunday - is by far the best in terms of a surprise element.

published on : 15th March 2021

Protests by CPM cadres force KC (M) to return Kuttiyadi seat

KC (M) chairman Jose K Mani said his party decided to cede the seat to the CPM taking into account the peculiar political situation that emerged in Kuttiyadi.

published on : 14th March 2021

Kerala polls: Congress candidates not decided on merit but based on their 'groups', says K Sudhakaran

Sudhakaran, who is also the Congress Working President in Kerala said that he was not even consulted for the selection process of candidates for Kannur.

published on : 14th March 2021

Rahul Gandhi instructs Kerala party leaders to include 50 per cent young faces, women: Congress leader

Over the last few weeks, Gandhi has visited several places in Kerala to campaign for the upcoming state assembly elections that will be held on April 6.

published on : 11th March 2021

'Top leaders practising groupism': PC Chacko announces resignation from Congress

While informing that he has tendered his resignation to Congress president Sonia Gandhi, he maintained that there is no Congress party in Kerala, only "A" Congress and "I" Congress

published on : 10th March 2021

CPM announces list of 83 candidates for Kerala polls, CM Pinarayi Vijayan to contest from Dharmadam

Five incumbent ministers, including Finance Minister Thomas Isaac and Works Minister G Sudhakaran, are not in the fray.

published on : 10th March 2021

Deal with KC(J) will be finalised in two days: Congress

Despite  several rounds of talks, the Kerala Congress (Joseph) and the Congress have not been able to break the deadlock over the seat-sharing matrix in Kottayam.

published on : 4th March 2021

Deadlock over PJ Joseph’s share of seats as UDF fails to make headway in alliance talks

The Joseph faction has refused to budge from its demand for 12 seats.

published on : 3rd March 2021

Congress leaders ask AICC to take over Tiruvalla seat from Kerala Congress

The leaders pointed out that the Kerala Congress lacks adequate strength and with Jose K Mani faction leaving the front, the existing cadre are with the LDF fold.

published on : 1st March 2021
1 2 3 4 5 >