Leader of Opposition

Leader of Opposition Devendra Fadnavis seeks all-party meet to discuss measures for flood management

Fadnavis also sought a separate disaster management authority for districts in Konkan, considering the frequency of natural calamities in the region.

published on : 1st August 2021

Pritam Singh takes charge as Leader of Opposition in Uttarakhand Assembly

Pritam said that development has been the biggest casualty of this political instability and the economy is lying in shambles and the prices have soared like never before.

published on : 26th July 2021

Opposition targets Maharashtra govt over MPSC aspirant's suicide, short duration of monsoon session

The BJP leader said earlier whenever questions were not discussed on the floor of the House, they were marked as "unstarred".

published on : 5th July 2021

Former TMC leader Vinay Mishra sends legal notice to BJP's Suvendu Adhikari

Adhikari had recently tweeted that Mishra renounced Indian citizenship but was made general secretary of TMC youth wing in 2020.

published on : 15th June 2021

OPS elected deputy leader of AIADMK legislature party, SP Velumani is party whip

Decisions to this effect were taken at the AIADMK legislature party meeting held on Monday at the party headquarters here.

published on : 14th June 2021

New LoP VD Satheesan reaches out to veterans ahead of the first Kerala Assembly session

Satheesan added that on the basis of the allegations raised by the opposition, the government had revoked several of its decisions.

published on : 24th May 2021

Venugopal emerges as new power centre, checkmates Chandy-Chennithala game

 The Congress’ move to make V D Satheesan the Leader of Opposition indicates the changing power equation in the grand old party in Kerala, with K C Venugopal emerging stronger.

published on : 23rd May 2021

Congress appoints VD Satheesan as Leader of Opposition in Kerala Assembly

The general outcry among the youth MLA’s was that only a generation shift would enable the Congress party to bounce back at a time when the CPM leadership had come out with fresh faces

published on : 22nd May 2021

BJP's Suvendu Adhikari elected Opposition leader in West Bengal Assembly

Suvendu Adhikari had won election from Nandigram assembly seat, defeating his former mentor-turned-political adversary Mamata Banerjee by a narrow margin of over 1900 votes.

published on : 10th May 2021

Edappadi Palaniswami elected as Leader of Opposition in Tamil Nadu Assembly

Senior leaders of the party handed over a letter to Assembly Secretary K Srinivasan informing about the election of Edappadi K Palaniswami as the AIADMK legislature party leader. 

published on : 10th May 2021

EPS, OPS argue over election of Leader of Opposition post 

Sources said during the discussions, Panneerselvam and Palaniswami themselves engaged in heated exchanges over the reasons for the AIADMK’s defeat in the elections.  

published on : 8th May 2021

Who will be the Opposition leader in AIADMK?

Another said it is going to be Palaniswami, referring to the credentials he has built over the past four years.

published on : 4th May 2021

Opposition in Rajya Sabha accuses BJP of polarising, creating fear psychosis across country

Leader of Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad attacked the government for creating fear, not only among people but also among the bureaucrats and opposition leaders.

published on : 5th February 2018

Senior Supreme Court advocate HS Phoolka to be Leader of Opposition in Punjab

Phoolka was elected by the MLAs of Aam Aadmi Party in a meeting today at Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's residence.

published on : 16th March 2017