Legislative Council

After Bihar assembly, controversial police bill passed in Council; Opposition seeks apology from CM

The Opposition members in the council again created ruckus when CM Nitish Kumar stood to speak in support of the bill.

published on : 25th March 2021

Council adjourned amid demand for House panel

After the House reconvened, JDS members continued to protest.

published on : 20th March 2021

Telangana MLC poll: TRS candidates maintain lead over rivals 

Vani Devi, TRS nominee from Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy- Hyderabad Graduates' constituency, was leading over her nearest BJP rival and sitting MLC N Ramachander Rao by 7,626 votes.

published on : 19th March 2021

Will DMK's 35-year-old bid to revive Tamil Nadu Legislative Council finally succeed?

This time, so far, two more political parties -- Congress and AMMK -- have also made this promise to the people

published on : 18th March 2021

Former Union Minister Upendra Kushwaha among 12 nominated to Bihar legislative council

From the BJP, the MLCs nominated include Janak Ram, a former Gopalganj MP who was recently made the states minister for mines and geology.

published on : 17th March 2021

Graduate MLC polls record jaw-dropping turnout

Police prevented the clash from turning into a pitched battle, while Premender Reddy and others were rushed to the Khammam Hospital.

published on : 15th March 2021

Fuel rates, price hike may turn Assembly session stormy in Karnataka

The issue of rising prices, especially fuel cost, will be taken up under Rule 69, and the Opposition Congress and JDS are expected to go for the jugular.

published on : 15th March 2021

Election for Graduates' Constituencies underway in Telangana

The polling booths witnessed long queues, as ballot papers are being used in the polls for preferential voting instead of the Electronic Voting Machines. 

published on : 14th March 2021

Telangana legislative council elections: Ballot boxes of epic proportions await electors

The size of the ballot box will be 610 mm by 610 mm by 760 mm, with a slit of 150mm by 15 mm on top of the box.

published on : 1st March 2021

PV Narasimha Rao's daughter among 38 candidates for Telangana Legislative Council elections

Biennial elections to the Legislative Council from two graduates' constituencies Mahabubnagar-Ranagareddy-Hyderabad as well as Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda will be held on March 14.

published on : 22nd February 2021

Biennial election to Legislative Councils of Andhra, Telangana to be held on March 14

Nominations for the biennial polls can be filed till February 23 and scrutiny of the same will be held on February 24. The withdrawal of names can be done till February 26.

published on : 11th February 2021

Polls for two graduates' constituencies of Telangana legislative council to be held on March 14

The term of BJP MLC N Ramachandra Rao from Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad and the term of TRS MLC Palla Rajeshwar Reddy from Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda will be completed on March 29.

published on : 11th February 2021

JD(S) MLC Basavaraj Horatti elected Karnataka Legislative Council Chairman

He has been a member of the Council for nearly 40 years now, starting from 1980.

published on : 9th February 2021

Horatti set to take Council chair, Congress puts up fight

Janata Dal (Secular) MLC Basavaraj Horatti on Monday filed his nomination for the State Legislative Council chairman’s election, and is set to be elected on Tuesday.

published on : 9th February 2021

Karnataka anti-cow slaughter bill passed in Legislative Council

Congress said the law will not help anyone, neither the farmers, nor the common people.

published on : 8th February 2021
1 2 3 4 >