NDA, Mahagathbandhan candidates file nomination for Speaker post of Bihar Assmebly

The NDA has declared BJP MLA Bijay Sinha's name as the candidate while Mahagathbandhan has declared RJD MLA Awadh Bihari Chaudhary as its candidate for the Speaker post.

published on : 24th November 2020

First session of newly-constituted Bihar Legislative Assembly from Monday

In order to combat COVID-19 spread, physical distancing would be maintained in the sitting arrangements of legislators and wearing masks has been made compulsory for those attending the session.

published on : 23rd November 2020

Bihar poll results show Congress should be accommodative: NCP leader Praful Patel

In recently-held Bihar polls, the BJP-JD(U) combine managed to retain power by defeating the RJD-led grand alliance in a tight contest.

published on : 22nd November 2020

Tejashwi faces corruption charges, must not become leader of Opposition: JD(U)

The JD(U)'s demand came two days after party leader Mewa Lal Chaudhary resigned as the state's education minister over a corruption taint.

published on : 22nd November 2020

Despite poll loss in Bihar, Sushil Kumar Modi's departure may be a win for opposition RJD

Sources said that even CM Nitish Kumar is still peeved at the act of BJP meted out to a competent person like Sushil, whose association with the government was much needed now.

published on : 19th November 2020

Graft-tainted JDU minister is ‘clean’ Nitish Kumar’s first hurdle in Bihar

Mewa Lal Chaudhary figures among over 45 others as accused in a case of irregularities involving appointment of assistant professors when he was the V-C of the Bihar Agricultural University.

published on : 18th November 2020

Lalu Yadav stays put at RIMS director's bungalow, director lodged in guesthouse

The RJD chief, who is currently admitted to RIMS for over 2 years, has become the ‘longest admitted patient at RIMS.

published on : 17th November 2020

Opposition boycotts Nitish, RJD says betrayal of mandate

Tejashwi, Chirag mock Nitish for being ‘nominated’ chief minister

published on : 17th November 2020

Bihar polls 2020: RJD to move court if EC rejects recount plea

With wafer-thin loss in many seats, opposition party claims irregularities in the counting of polled postal ballots.

published on : 14th November 2020

Videos, not Twitter: Here's how social media shaped the narrative in Bihar elections

Every public meeting is now available online along with professionally-made short clips designed to catch people's attention.

published on : 14th November 2020

Ultimate decision lies with people: Election Commission hits back at Tejashwi Yadav

The EC had to hold four press conferences on counting day on November 10 to respond to various aspects of the process, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora pointed out.

published on : 13th November 2020

Bihar polls 2020: Congress concedes it was ‘weak link’ in Grand Alliance, calls for introspection

Senior Congress leader Jairam Ramesh said the mandate was against Nitish Kumar and despite 15 years of his power, Bihar remains one of the poorest states.

published on : 13th November 2020

BJP improves strike rate since 2015; RJD, Congress scoring rate dip

The AIMIM, which had zero seats in 2015 with a 21 percent votes share, improved on both counts as it scored a strike rate of 35 percent and clocked 1.24 percent votes.

published on : 11th November 2020

Tejashwi Yadav: Political novice who gave veterans a run for their money

He may have failed to learn the textbook lessons at DPS, R K Puram, in the national capital but showed an uncanny knack of reading the mind of voters, like his more famous father.

published on : 11th November 2020

Bihar polls 2020: RJD cries foul as JD(U) wins Hilsa seat by just 12 votes

Earlier, around 10 pm, when the poll panel website showed that votes for Hilsa were still being counted, the RJD alleged foul play in the process.

published on : 11th November 2020
1 2 3 4 5 6 >