Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman

Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh breaks his one-day fast

Janata Dal (U) MP Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh offered juice to Harivansh to help him break the fast.

published on : 23rd September 2020

RS Deputy Chairman Harivansh arrives with tea for 8 suspended MPs who camped overnight at Parliament lawns

The eight suspended MPs protesing in the Parliament lawns had a surprise visitor in Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh who arrived with morning tea for them.

published on : 22nd September 2020

Rajya Sabha deputy chairman faces no-confidence motion

Govt may take action against opposition MPs for bedlam in House

published on : 21st September 2020

BJD backs JD-U candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman post

Nitish had dialed Naveen on September 10 and had requested him to extend BJD’s support to the JD(U) candidate for the post.

published on : 14th September 2020

BJD to back NDA candidate in Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman election: Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik

Naveen Patnaik made the announcement after his JDU and Bihar counterpart Nitish Kumar called him up in the morning.

published on : 14th September 2020

Nitish Kumar dials Naveen Patnaik to seek BJD's support for JDU candidate in Rajya Sabha poll

Kumar informed Patnaik that his party's Rajya Sabha MP Harivansh Narayan Singh has filed nomination for the post of Deputy Chairman in Rajya Sabha.

published on : 10th September 2020

Opposition to put up joint candidate for RS deputy chairman post

The post of Deputy Speaker in Lok Sabha has been lying vacant since May last year, when Lok Sabha was reconstituted post-elections.  

published on : 8th September 2020

NDA candidate Harivansh Singh elected Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman

A journalist-politician Harivansh is the first person to become deputy chairman during his first term in the house.

published on : 9th August 2018

Know all about Harivansh Narayan Singh, newly elected Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman

Harivansh Narayan Singh was first given a seat in the Rajya Sabha by Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal United in 2014, the tenure of which will end in 2020. 

published on : 9th August 2018