Rajya Sabha Polls

Why Rajya Sabha polls put off: Kerala HC to EC

The EC said it would announce and notify the elections before the expiry of the members’ term.

published on : 8th April 2021

HC seeks Election Commission view on keeping in abeyance Kerala Rajya Sabha polls

Considering the plea filed by the secretary of the Kerala Legislative Assembly, challenging the poll panel's act, the Court directed the EC to respond to the plea by next Monday.

published on : 26th March 2021

EC keeps in abeyance schedule of polls to fill three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala

Election to three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala falling vacant next month was to be held on April 12.

published on : 24th March 2021

With Sushil Modi's Rajya Sabha win, BJP leader achieves rare feat in Bihar

Modi had been elected to the state assembly, the state legislative council, the Lok Sabha and now, the Rajya Sabha.

published on : 8th December 2020

Chirag Paswan’s party not to field any candidate for Rajya Sabha seat 

“This seat belonged to party’s founder and since he is no more, it is BJP’s decision to field a candidate on this,” said the Chirag Paswan-led party in a tweet.

published on : 2nd December 2020

UP Rajya Sabha polls: All 10 candidates elected unopposed 

Mayawati clarifies on her statement over aligning with BJP, says she would join any party including the saffron outfit to defeat SP in MLC elections.

published on : 2nd November 2020

Mayawati suspends 7 rebel MLAs, says will vote for BJP to defeat SP in MLC polls

Mayawati said her party would send an application to the UP Assembly Speaker seeking the disqualification of all seven rebel MLAs if they joined any other party.

published on : 29th October 2020

UP Rajya Sabha polls: 7 BSP MLAs turn rebels, withdraw support to party candidate

In another major development, the nomination of SP-supported Independent candidate Prakash Bajaj was rejected on technical ground.

published on : 28th October 2020

Rajya Sabha polls: Independent candidate Prakash Bajaj gets Samajwadi Party’s backing

With the new equation, wherein the SP has put its stakes on the 10th seat as well with the nomination of Prakash Bajaj, voting has become inevitable.

published on : 28th October 2020

UP Rajya Sabha elections: Polling a certainty as 11 candidates in fray for 10  seats 

A Varanasi-based lawyer Prakash Bajaj has filed nomination as an Independent candidate backed by the Samajwadi Party.

published on : 27th October 2020

Polls to 10 UP Rajya Sabha seats on November 9, BJP likely to walk away with major chunk

Coming close on the heels of the three-phase Bihar Assembly elections, the result of the Rajya Sabha polls will be announced on November 11.

published on : 14th October 2020

Polls to 11 Rajya Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand on November 9

Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri and SP leader Ram Gopal Yadav are among the 10 members from Uttar Pradesh retiring on November 25.

published on : 13th October 2020

After Rajya Sabha polls, Ajay Maken, Gaurav Gogoi quarantined in Manipur

As per the standard COVID-19 protocols, every individual entering Manipur – or for that matter any state of the Northeast – is sent to institutional quarantine.

published on : 20th June 2020

SP chief Akhilesh Yadav cancels victory celebrations in show of solidarity to BSP's loss in Rajya Sabha polls

The BSP too has given indications that it remains positive about the new-found understanding between the two parties.

published on : 24th March 2018

Akhilesh Yadav should have given priority to BSP candidate: Mayawati

However, Mayawati was quick to add that the RS results would have no impact on her party’s ties with the SP and that she did not hold SP chief responsible for the defeat of BSP candidate.

published on : 24th March 2018
1 2 3 >