Rajya sabha

Bypolls to two Rajya Sabha seats on August 24

The bypolls were necessitated following the death of  Beni Prasad Verma from UP and M P Veerendra Kumar from Kerala earlier this year.

published on : 30th July 2020

Rajya Sabha polls: Congress issues notices to two Manipur MLAs for cross-voting

The notices were served to Wangkhei MLA Okram Henry Singh and Sagolband MLA Rajkumar Imo Singh on Friday.

published on : 26th July 2020

45 newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs take oath, chairman Venkaiah Naidu urges them to uphold rules

The new members, including 36 first timers, took the oath of office in the Rajya Sabha chamber while following physical distancing norms.

published on : 22nd July 2020

Newly elected members of Rajya Sabha to take oath on July 22 in House chamber

This is the first time that oath-taking of members will take place in the House chamber during the inter-session period so as to maintain norms of physical distancing due to COVID-19.

published on : 17th July 2020

Rajya Sabha rejects MPs’ demand on virtual meetings scheduled on July 10

During a meeting with Naidu, Rajya Sabha officials pointed out that committees have been meeting without the quorum for years.

published on : 9th July 2020

COVID-19 effect: Rajya Sabha plans staggered seating, virtual participation in monsoon session

The Rajya Sabha Secretariat is planning staggered seating arrangements for MPs in conformity with the physical distancing norm during the upcoming monsoon session.

published on : 4th July 2020

Rajya Sabha polls: NCP issues show cause notice to lone MLA for cross voting

Though Jadeja was directed to cast his vote for a Congress candidate in the June 19 elections to four seats, he apparently voted for a BJP nominee.

published on : 22nd June 2020

NDA widens gap with Opposition in Rajya Sabha with a comfortable 86 seats in the House

The Congress has accused the BJP of horse-trading, alleging that it had engineered defections from its ranks for political gains.

published on : 20th June 2020

Rajya Sabha polls: NPP in Meghalaya, MNF in Mizoram as BJP retains Manipur seat

Titular king Leishemba Sanajaoba of the BJP won the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Manipur.

published on : 19th June 2020

Barring two TDP MLAs, others cast votes in Rajya Sabha polls in Andhra Pradesh

TDP leader Atchannaidu couldn't cast his vote as he is undergoing treatment in hospital while Anagani Satya Prasad didn't come citing 'home quarantine'.

published on : 19th June 2020

Rajya Sabha election: BJP MLA arrives in ambulance to cast vote in Gujarat

MLA Kesarisinh Jesangbhai Solanki was hospitalised following a health issue, reached the polling booth directly from the hospital.

published on : 19th June 2020

Rajya Sabha polls 2020: Election for four seats in Andhra Pradesh commenced

For the four seats from Andhra Pradesh, five candidates -- four from ruling YSRC and one from opposition TDP -- are in the fray.

published on : 19th June 2020

Stage set in Rajasthan for Rajya Sabha polls on June 19

Apart from routine preparations, authorities have made special arrangements for sanitisation, social distancing etc.in view of coronavirus pandemic.

published on : 18th June 2020

Madhya Pradesh BJP, Congress MLAs hold meetings on eve of Rajya Sabha polls

Both the parties have fielded two candidates each for the three seats of the Upper House of Parliament.

published on : 18th June 2020

Jharkhand: BJP MLAs confined to university campus till Rajya Sabha polls

Sources in the party revealed that all 26 BJP MLAs will stay in hostel rooms of the school till RS polls are conducted and leave the campus only for polling on Friday. 

published on : 18th June 2020
1 2 3 4 5 6 >