South Africa variant

UK health secretary confirms first two cases of new Covid strain Omicron in Britain

UK health secretary says that 2 cases of new coronavirus variant omicron identified in Britain, says they are linked.

published on : 27th November 2021

Sri Lanka imposes travel ban from six southern African countries over 'Omicron' Covid variant

The new COVID-19 variant B.1.1.529, first detected in South Africa this week, was designated as a 'Variant of Concern' by the World Health Organisation, which named it 'Omicron'.

published on : 27th November 2021

India to screen travellers from several countries including UK amid new COVID variant 'Omicron'

Countries from where the travellers would need to follow additional measures  are South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Israel and Hong Kong.

published on : 27th November 2021