UP bypolls

Mayawati to chair meeting over BSP's performance in UP bypolls

The party chief has called for a meeting of district presidents, zonal in-charges and other concerned office-bearers.

published on : 5th November 2019

UP bypoll results boost Congress despite no wins

Analysts say the results have come despite Priyanka not campaigning much and the outcome may well have been different if her team had put in more effort.

published on : 25th October 2019

Going alone in UP bypolls helped expose BJP's 'darker side': Akhilesh Yadav 

Hitting out at the BJP, Yadav said the people voted against the saffron party and the politics of hatred, casteism and corruption.

published on : 25th October 2019

Samajwadi Party emerges as gainer in UP bypolls as BJP loses a seat from its kitty

Of the 11 seats where bypolls were held, the BJP had sitting MLAs in nine and the SP and BSP in one seat each. The BJP managed to retain its forts in eight of the nine but lost Zaidpur to the SP. 

published on : 24th October 2019

Bypoll results of six UP seats out, BJP wins five and SP one

Lucknow Cant, Govindnagar, (Kanpur), Pratapgarh, Balha (Bahriach) and Gangoh have all gone to the ruling BJP and its allies while Zaidpur in Barabanki was won by the Samajwadi Party.

published on : 24th October 2019

UP bypolls: Opposition hopes for big upset on many seats

The Ghosi seat which fell vacant following the resignation of MLA Phagu Chauhan after he was appointed the Governor of Bihar is another tough battle for the BJP.

published on : 19th October 2019

UP bypolls: BJP looks at bettering tally, litmus test for Opposition ahead of state elections

The BJP is eyeing a clean sweep in the bypolls in order to increase its tally in the state legislative assembly.

published on : 13th October 2019

BSP’s Saharanpur unit switches over to BJP ahead of Gangoh bypoll in UP

Gangoh assembly constituency in Saharanpur will go to bypoll along with 10 other seats on October 21 while the results would be announced on October 24.

published on : 3rd October 2019

UP bypolls: Apna Dal announces Raj Kumar Pal candidate from Pratapgarh seat

Pal, a district-level BJP functionary who was earlier with the Samajwadi Party, has now been announced as the candidate from the former union minister Anupriya Patel's party, Apna Dal (S).

published on : 30th September 2019

UP bypolls: SP decides to field Azam Khan's wife Tanzeen Fatima from Rampur 

The Rampur Assembly seat fell vacant after Azam Khan was elected to the Lok Sabha in May this year.

published on : 29th September 2019

Samajwadi Party declares candidates for five assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh​ bypolls

While Sudhakar Singh will be the party's candidate from Ghosi, Nirbhay Singh Patel will be SP candidate from Manikpur.

published on : 29th September 2019

BJP announces list of candidates for assembly bypolls in 13 states 

While four names were for Assam, five were for Kerala and 10 for Uttar Pradesh. Bihar, Chhatisgarh, Meghalaya, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana had one name each in the list.

published on : 29th September 2019

UP bypolls: Stage set for 'semi-final' in 11 seats before 2022 battle for Lucknow

Having learnt its lessons from the four bypoll defeats of 2018, the BJP, which has the most to lose, is taking no chances. It is going to be a four-cornered contest with no alliance on the horizon.

published on : 23rd September 2019

Ahead of UP bypolls, Mayawati changes organisational set up of BSP yet again

The new organisational reshuffle is being viewed as an initiative of the BSP chief to strike a caste calculus by bringing Muslims, Backwards and Dalits at par.

published on : 5th September 2019

UP bypolls: Reasons galore for fall of Yogi Adityanath’s Gorakhpur

The fall of Gorakhpur seems to be much beyond political comprehension as the voters chose to go with opposition against a BJP  candidate who had no association with Gorakhnath Mutt.

published on : 15th March 2018
1 2 >