West Bengal Congress

Bengal Congress MLA Qazi Abdur Rahim joins TMC

The Congress had won 44 seats in the 2016 assembly elections but 18 of its MLAs have switched over to the ruling TMC since then.

published on : 7th November 2020

Somen Mitra's death leaves Bengal Congress unit rudderless, search on for new chief

According to Congress sources, whosoever takes over as PCC chief also needs to take forward the alliance.

published on : 31st July 2020

Somen Mitra: Master organiser who failed to stop spilt in Bengal Congress

A stalwart in Bengal politics, Mitra's political career began during the tumultuous '60s as a student leader and spanned over five decades.

published on : 30th July 2020

Mamata Banerjee worried about our tie-up with CPM: West Bengal Congress chief Somen Mitra

Earlier, Banerjee had criticised opposition parties in the state for spreading 'political pollution' and accused the CPM and the Congress for 'politically surrendering' before the BJP.

published on : 15th February 2020