padma awards

2021 Padma Awards: Odisha's octogenarian doctor Dr Krishna Mohan Pathi is healing the poor for free

Born on August 1, 1939 in Sukunda village near Berhampur, Dr Pathi is a noted orthopaedic surgeon who is known for his landmark work in tribal districts of the State.

published on : 28th January 2021

Padma Awards: Divine poetess Purnamasi Jani from Odisha's Kandhamal never repeats her songs

The 76-year-old tribal poetess, popularly known as Tadisaru Bai in the region, has never repeated any of her poems or songs.

published on : 28th January 2021

Maharashtra Congress questions criteria for Padma awards

The Maharashtra government had recommended 99 names for the Padma awards to the Centre, but only one, social activist Sindhutai Sapkal, was selected for Padma Shri.

published on : 27th January 2021

Better sanitation for rural India is the focus of this Padma awardee from Tiruchy

Subburaman’s NGO, Society for Community Organisation and Peoples Education (SCOPE), has focused on improving sanitation in rural India from 1986.

published on : 26th January 2021

Maharashtra should have got more Padma awards: Sanjay Raut

Rajnikant Shroff, Sindhutai Sapkal, Girish Prabhune, Namdeo Kamble, Parshuram Gangawane and Jaswantiben Popat are the award winners from Maharashtra this year.

published on : 26th January 2021

Commoners from Odisha bring Padma awards pride home

The Padma Shri awardees this year are teacher Nanda Prusty, author-commentator Rajat Kumar Kar, social worker Shanti Devi, poet and singer Purnamasi Jani and doctor Krishna Mohan Pathi.

published on : 26th January 2021

TT player Mouma Das, five other sportspersons awarded Padma Shri 

Mouma, who won the Arjuna Award in 2013, became only the second table tennis player after Achanta Sharath Kamal to win the Padma Shri.

published on : 26th January 2021

Padma Vibushan for Dr BM Hegde, Padma Bhushan for Chandrashekhara Kambara

Sixty-four-year-old Jogati Manjamma, the first transwoman who was appointed as chairperson of Karnataka Janapada Academy has been awarded the Padmashri.

published on : 25th January 2021

SP Balasubramaniam, Shinzo Abe among seven Padma Vibhushan awardees, here is full list

Former Prime Minister of Japan Shinzo Abe, Singer S P Balasubramaniam (posthumously), Sand artist Sudarshan Sahoo, Archaeologist BB Lal awarded Padma Vibhushan among others.

published on : 25th January 2021