Mallikarjun Kharge elected as Congress' first non-Gandhi president in over two decades

Published: 19th October 2022 07:25 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th October 2022 07:27 PM  

The Congress party elected veteran leader #MallikarjunKharge as its first non-Gandhi president in 24 years on Wednesday. Out of the 9,385 votes polled in the Congress presidential polls, Mallikarjun Kharge got 7,897 votes, #ShashiTharoor secured 1,072 votes, and 416 votes were declared invalid, the party's Central Election Authority chairman Madhusudan Mistry said.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp