Lankan Opposition Parties Enter Into Pre-election MoU

Published: 02nd December 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd December 2014 05:38 AM   |  A+A-

COLOMBO: Several opposition parties in Sri Lanka on Monday signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to jointly fight the January 8, 2015 Presidential election through a common opposition candidate Maithripala Sirisena.

Those who signed the MoU at a public function at Vihara Mahadevi Park here were Maithripala Sirisena, Chandrika Kumaratunga, Rajitha Senaratne and M K D S Gunawardene of the breakaway faction of the ruling Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP); Leader of the Opposition and United National Party (UNP) leader Ranil Wickremesinghe; Democratic Party leader Sarath Fonseka, and its MP Arjuna Ranatunga; Democratic Peoples’ Front leader Mano Ganeshan, the Convener of Movement for a Just Society, Ven Maduluwawe Sobitha Thero, and representatives of several civil society organizations.

Addressing the gathering, joint opposition candidate Sirisena pledged to abolish the Executive Presidency and bring about other constitutional reforms.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp